Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-01-2019, 09:14 AM   #1

Winterization of my E-Pro 19FQ

I had my unit winterized by the dealer for the first time this weekend and learned a couple of things worth sharing. In addition to all the usual drains and flushes, they also drained my city water hook-up and black tank flush line. I have never done either of these before. The city water hook-up was drained by removing the cap, taking out the screen underneath, and pushing on the metal "button" in the middle. A fair amount of water squirted out. The black tank flush was cleared with a hand pump that drew the water out and squirted it on the ground.
I've done my own winterizing for years; this was the first time I had a dealer do it, They had a $55 drive-through deal that seemed too good to pass up. It definitely beat laying on the ground under the camper to get at drains, and removing the panel and squirming under the bed to get at the valves needed to isolate the water heater, and I learned a couple of things in addition.
kdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 09:20 AM   #2
Pickin', Campin', Mason

Thanks for posting. It's a good reminder of two things many overlook when winterizing, although most later model instructions include both of those things.

The other often overlooked things are the outside shower/sink/washer lines (if equipped) and the residual water left in the pump & suction/strainer if you only blow out the lines.

At $55 I'll still do it. Factor in the cost of getting it to a dealer and the time spent to do so, I can spend $10 and 20 minutes of my time and be done.

To each their own.

Days Camped '19=118 '20=116 '21=123 '22=134 '23=118 '24=90
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 09:33 AM   #3
Brake is on left

55 bucks isn't bad to be honest. Sure a DIY is cheaper but for dealer price that aint bad.