Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-08-2016, 08:38 PM   #1

2016 rockwood 2306 things to buy and gen size

I just bought a brand new 2016 rockwood 2306 mini lite and I am very excited it's our first camper I am new to it all. I wish I didn't have to wait 8 weeks for it to come in. I have a few questions I was hoping someone can answer.

What are the top things I should look at buying for this TT right away? I have weight limit issues so I do not want to pack heavy, I am towing with a 2012 Chevy traverse (5200 lbs)

I wanted to get a generator since most places we want to camp do not have hook ups what size generator will let us run everything no problem in particular A/C?

Thanks
Locchamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 08:46 PM   #2
KnP

I will think a 3,500 KW will do just fine. Get a Tri Fuel if you can or Bi Fuel. The reason is that you can run LPG, NG and Gasoline. Gasoline has a crapy shelf life. Choice of fuel is great.

Problem with those is above 4,000 ft.
Old 03-08-2016, 09:08 PM   #3
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by Locchamp View Post
I just bought a brand new 2016 rockwood 2306 mini lite and I am very excited it's our first camper I am new to it all. I wish I didn't have to wait 8 weeks for it to come in. I have a few questions I was hoping someone can answer.

What are the top things I should look at buying for this TT right away? I have weight limit issues so I do not want to pack heavy, I am towing with a 2012 Chevy traverse (5200 lbs)

I wanted to get a generator since most places we want to camp do not have hook ups what size generator will let us run everything no problem in particular A/C?

Thanks
Welcome to FRF.

So, since you'll be using the generator in campgrounds, you'll need an inverter generator.

You'll need at minimum a Yamaha 2400w to MAYBE run the a/c, IF it's a 13.5k a/c.