Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2016, 10:36 PM   #1
Member
 
Lookin2camp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 47
30 amp question

If I'm hooked up to house current at home, and I'm connected to my TT with a 30 amp adapter , will my 13, 500 BTU AC unit function properly. I don't plan on running any other appliances. This house current outlet is on its own circuit with no GFI.
__________________

__________________
Lookin2camp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 10:43 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
crunchman12001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Posts: 3,077
The only issue would be if you have to add an additional extension cord to reach your outlet. Use a 30amp cord if needed. Other than the cord, you will be fine.
__________________

__________________
2017 Salem Villa Estate 395RET-
2011 Coachmen Freedom Express 295RLDS- Sold
2015 F-250 FX4
crunchman12001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 10:45 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 236
Gotta find out the starting amperage of your unit... pull the intake plate in the ceiling and look for a plate with that info. If expressed in watts, divide by 110 to get amperage. You didn't mention if it's a 15 or 20 amp circuit. 20 wouldn't be a problem, 15 may be pushing depending on that rating. Also keep your cords short to reduce voltage drop.

If you have a volt meter you could see how much the voltage drops when it starts up by probing an outlet in the camper.
__________________
2016 Flagstaff 27VRL with overloaded tires from factory
2015 Chevy Silverado
Paul GA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 10:57 PM   #4
Canadian Member
 
itat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Eastern GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,905
Mine runs fine on a 15A circuit with a few lights on but nothing else. Used it for a couple nights when the AC for the house quit working. Run the fridge on propane if you need to get it cold before heading out.
__________________
2011 Rockwood Signature Ultra Lite 8293SS, 12K Equal-i-zer WDH
2016 Ford F-250 XLT SuperCrew, 6.2L, 4x4, 6'9" bed, 3.73, w/ snow plow & camper pkgs.
2010 Rockwood Roo 23SS (2012 - 2014)
2009 Ford F-150 XLT SuperCrew, 5.4L, 5'6" bed (2012 - 2016)

itat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 12:33 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,753
Check out this thread.

Stupid question

Starting with Post #4, it devolves into many opinions on running AC at home. My experience is in Post #5.
__________________
1988 Coleman Sequoia - popup (1987-2009) - outlasted 3 Dodge Grand Caravans!
2012 Roo19 - hybrid (2012-2015)

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 09:30 AM   #6
Member
 
Lookin2camp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 47
The circuit is a 20 amp outlet. I'll only be running the ac . My unit is a 2016 Rockwood ultra light signature series 8312 SS diamond package. It's a single unit 13,500. I had some cooling issues with this unit last trip. It has since been fixed by CW with a new thermostat and freeze sensor, so this would be a good time to test it out before next months beach trip.

I don't intend to "camp" but just run the ac in the driveway if it gets too hot to sleep after a pool party. This is the 30 amp adapter I have ( wasn't 3$&#128514 and I'll be using a construction HD 10 gauge cord as well, with about total length of 30 feet. Get me some feed back please , and thanks for looking out for a brother!Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1466688631.195090.jpg
Views:	159
Size:	79.1 KB
ID:	111881


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
Lookin2camp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 10:12 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 21
Your cord is good. If you pop the breaker, you need more than 20 amps for your application.


Some must watch while others must sleep
__________________
drstimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 10:20 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
SeaDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 3,418
The shorter the orange extension cord is the better off you are.
__________________
Retired Navy
Jake my sidekick (yellow Lab)
2017 RAM 2500 CC 4X4 Cummins Diesel
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 01:13 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 236
Oversized orange cord like you have will reduce voltage drop. I don't see any problems here.
__________________
2016 Flagstaff 27VRL with overloaded tires from factory
2015 Chevy Silverado
Paul GA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 01:17 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 33
30 amp question

We were having problems with our home a/c, so we called our tech to come check it out. He took time to talk to my dh about our new Rockwood and then spent some time giving him tips about TT's ( he's owned 7 over the years and done a lot of camping in them). He asked why we didn't hook up and run our a/c to protect our new baby from the Louisiana heat and humidity, (heat index was 107 last week!), and told us it was fine to run it off of our outdoor plug (20 amp). So, we've been doing that for the last month with no problems!
__________________

__________________
Rob & Pris
2016 GMC Sierra SLT 4WD
2017 Rockwood Mini Lite 2506S
60 days camped in 2016; 19 day trip to Niagara Falls
9 days camped in 2017
GeauxCajuns is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.