Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2010, 09:34 AM   #1
Nights Camped in 2010 - 2
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 210
30 amp trailier, 50 amp site

All,

This is a real newbie question. As I research campsites, I am seeing more 50 amp sites and have been offered a couple at a few of the camp grounds as I plan out the rest of summer. I only have a 30 amp breaker and shore power cord. Can I use a 50 amp site with my trailer? I hate to even ask, but want to be informed on the subject, so I can make the right plans for our outtings. Thanks,
__________________

__________________
George Kelly
2011 Rockwood Ultra Light 2604
Dodge RAM 1500 Larime 4x4, 5.7 HEMI
Nights Camped 2010 = 18
Nights Camped 2011 = 15
sailingsuppo46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 09:45 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by sailingsuppo46 View Post
All,

This is a real newbie question. As I research campsites, I am seeing more 50 amp sites and have been offered a couple at a few of the camp grounds as I plan out the rest of summer. I only have a 30 amp breaker and shore power cord. Can I use a 50 amp site with my trailer? I hate to even ask, but want to be informed on the subject, so I can make the right plans for our outtings. Thanks,
Yep, you should be good to go. You will need a 50 amp to 30 amp adapter so that your 3 pin plug will work.

Most of the time for us, when there is 50 amp service, there is also a 30 amp receptacle in the electrical box also, as well as a 20 amp plug-in.
__________________

__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 06:48 AM   #3
Cunning Linguist
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 56
Generally....

30 amp user at 50 Amp site = good

50 amp user at 30 amp site = bad


As stated above, a lot of sites have the 30A & 50A recepticles side-by-side in the box, with a 115-120v, 15-20a dual recepticle.

Just have your adaptor (although some of the site convenience stores have them for sale,....albeit at 10x wha you would pay for it at Walmart)
__________________
Acara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 08:11 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
milzat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Prairieville, Louisiana
Posts: 1,927
George,

The majority of the time, when a campground post 50 amp sites, it'll look like this.

50 on the left, 30 in the center, 20 on the right.
__________________
milzat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 09:10 AM   #5
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,733
Just took an extended trip to several western states.
10 or 12 different camp grounds.
We hit one with a 50 amp only post but the owner offered to
loan me a 50/30 adapter.
I declined because I wanted to try out my new one.

Get one from Wally World and put it somewhere you can
find it but don't expect to need it maybe ever.
OTOH if you ever do need it you'll be SO GLAD you have it!!
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2004 5.3L Silverado 1500 ext. cab 2WD
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch, AirLift load levelers

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41,
2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 09:23 AM   #6
Nights Camped in 2010 - 2
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 210
All,
Thanks. I will grab an adapter for my just in case box. I would hate to have to inform the Admiral that we are not going to have AC due to me not having the right gear. The money expended will be well invested if I ever need it. To painful to be without one. Thanks again everyone as always you were a great help. Cheers,
__________________
George Kelly
2011 Rockwood Ultra Light 2604
Dodge RAM 1500 Larime 4x4, 5.7 HEMI
Nights Camped 2010 = 18
Nights Camped 2011 = 15
sailingsuppo46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 10:39 AM   #7
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,733
I have used my 20 foot 30 amp extension cord maybe 3 or 4 times.
They are kinda pricey but again, if you need one and don't have it....
Donno if Wally World sells them?
__________________
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 10:45 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 801
The WallyMarts here in Canada have 30 Amp cords.
__________________
2017 Chevrolet K2500HD, Husky W/D hitch
2009 Rockwood 2106 Mini-Lite
Nights camped 2010: 21
Nights camped 2011: 17
Nights camped 2012: 8
https://inlinethumb45.webshots.com/3...600x600Q85.jpg
revrnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 09:09 PM   #9
Cunning Linguist
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by sailingsuppo46 View Post
...for my just in case box.
if you already know to have a "just in case box", your well on your a way to a long and enjoyable camping career
__________________

__________________
Acara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp, rockwood

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.