Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2015, 12:58 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,586
No when you plug a 30 into a 50 with an adapter you are getting 50! Your panel will protect the RV by tripping at 30, but the pedestal won't trip until 50.
__________________

__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:00 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camper John View Post
As a park owner I want to caution RV owners about using these splitters to connect 50AMP units to 30AMP site electric. ........ Personally I won't risk losing my 5'r over a $5 @ day upcharge for 50AMP.
======================

$5/day???? That's $150 a month extra. I don't even pay that much for my whole house with a 2½Ton A.C. running during the hot summer months. $3 maybe, but $5?????

Happy trails,
__________________

__________________
billb800si is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:05 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 505
The tower will provide 50 amps. You will be limited to 30 amps by the main breaker in the rig.
__________________
Harkerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:14 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Camper John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Thackerville, OK
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbillsmith View Post
Which are you speaking about?
- the 50amp to 30+20 adapters that plug into BOTH the 30amp and the 20amp with the expectation that the power stand will provide 50amps? The don't work on GFI receptacles I believe.

- the dogbones that simply feed the parks 30amp into one leg of the 50amp?

I can't see how one can travel without a dogbone. I use one but restrict my trailer usage to stay under (i.e. only use one of these at a time -A/C -Microwave -hairdryer). Any two, including using 2 A/C's will go over and pop the breaker. But if you are diligent, it lets us 50ampers stay in parks that do not offer 50.
I am referring to the switch boxes that plug into 30AMP boxes from 50AMP RVs. You are correct these adapters do not work with the 20AMP GFCI outlets.
__________________
Camper John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:19 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Camper John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Thackerville, OK
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by billb800si View Post
======================

$5/day???? That's $150 a month extra. I don't even pay that much for my whole house with a 2½Ton A.C. running during the hot summer months. $3 maybe, but $5?????

Happy trails,
That rate is a daily rate, Our site daily rate is based upon 30AMP. I would gladly trade you monthly electric bills. My house 2760 sq ft with a 5 ton a/c in Texas, $244.00 a month on level bill.
__________________
Camper John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:29 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camper John View Post
As a park owner I want to caution RV owners about using these splitters to connect 50AMP units to 30AMP site electric. I get told all the time that if a problem exists it has to be in the park system. I have 2 examples of why this is not always the case. 1 is the buzz bar we have one the office counter with the notice that NO adapters are permitted. The other are photos of the 40' HR MH that burned to the ground 2 years ago. After the insurance company and the State Fire Marshall investigated both concluded that the fire was caused by an overload of coach shore power system. I hear too many time that the park is "just trying to gouge campers by charging extra for 50AMP" and that is why campers use these magical adapters. Personally I won't risk losing my 5'r over a $5 @ day upcharge for 50AMP.
Don't understand the point between the HR MH loss and shore power dog bone (adapter) usage.
__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:33 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,586
i tend to agree. A 50 amp connected to a 30 amp pedestal is certainly defined as "under powered" not overloaded. Now a bad breaker somewhere could be a problem.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:33 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 505
I have run into 30 amp pedestal receptacles that have been overloaded

You can tell because one or more slots show signs of overheating. Do not use these! They can damage the plug on your cord. Either get another space or use the 50 amp if available.
__________________
Harkerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:35 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,586
Perhaps bad plugs but they shouldn't be able to be overloaded if the pedestal breakers are working. Bad plugs can arc, which would burn the receptacle contacts.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 01:40 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 505
Best just to check receptacle condition before plugging in. If signs of overheating better not use it.
__________________

__________________
Harkerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.