Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2015, 09:06 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
keeprr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Oklahoma City Metro Area
Posts: 235
50 Amp Service

Our Mini Lite operates on 30 Amp AC. When campgrounds and/or National Parks show 50 Amp, do they have a 30 Amp on the same post? If not, do I need a special adapter or just a 50 to 30 pigyail?
__________________

__________________
2016 Open Range Light 297RLS Fifth Wheel
2015 GMC 2500HD 6.6L Duramax


Days Camped. 2015: 17
Days Camped 2016: 58
keeprr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 09:14 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,019
50 to 30! Youroo!!
__________________

__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 09:14 PM   #3
Member
 
mr dually's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 50
Usually there will be a 30amp plug right next to the 50 Amp as well as a 15/20amp.

I have never seen a 50 amp only but if that's the case you can use an adapter. I carry one just in case the 30 amp plug is IFFY.
__________________
03 Fleetwood 31g LS
06 Chevy Gas Dually
07 Yamaha golf cart
Looking to purchase a Georgetown 364 ts Mh in the next couple of years.
mr dually is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 09:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
RSchleder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,277
Many/most RV electrical posts that have 50A, also have a 30A receptacle. If not, no big deal, simply use the 50A to 30A pig tail and everything will work fine. Just be aware that you will only have a max total of 30 Amps instead of your normal 50 Amps. You will only be able to run ONE a/c unit for example. As long as you understand you'll have 40% less amperage capacity, all will be well. If you load things (use electricity) at a rate of more than the 30 Amps, you'll simply trip the breaker on the rv park post to the one in your "breaker box". No big deal, reset and unplug something and you'll be fine!
__________________
Days camping (2016)----181 days
Days camping (2017) --- 82 days
2016 Wildcat MAXX 28RKX (33' TT), 2007 13' Scamp
2015 Ram Laramie Hemi, w/air suspension
30 years RV'ing
12 different RV's
RSchleder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 09:19 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,019
These were in a BIG C/G in Wis? Youroo!! You never know!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SAM_1023.jpg
Views:	185
Size:	189.2 KB
ID:	76400   Click image for larger version

Name:	SAM_1024.jpg
Views:	182
Size:	245.4 KB
ID:	76401  
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 09:13 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
keeprr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Oklahoma City Metro Area
Posts: 235
Thanks. We just got back into camping after 37 years. Back east the marinas are set up with 50 and 30 on each post and I was hoping campgrounds were mostly the same as I still have various adapter configurations.
__________________
2016 Open Range Light 297RLS Fifth Wheel
2015 GMC 2500HD 6.6L Duramax


Days Camped. 2015: 17
Days Camped 2016: 58
keeprr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 09:19 AM   #7
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Have seen a couple with 50A only, one in Astor, FL and C section in Thousand Trails Mocksville, NC. 50-30 adaptor solves the problem.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 09:40 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
5er_tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,330
Twice I needed the 50 to 30 converter. They are not that expensive and a good piece of insurance.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
Tom & Renée
Durham, NC

2015 Wildcat 295RSX
2012 Ford F-250, 4x4, 6.7 Liter Diesel
5er_tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 09:59 AM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by youroo View Post
These were in a BIG C/G in Wis? Youroo!! You never know!
Boy, that looks dumb unless your sharing the box with two camp sites.
__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
2015 129 nites
2016 63 nites
elind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 10:06 AM   #10
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by RSchleder View Post
Many/most RV electrical posts that have 50A, also have a 30A receptacle. If not, no big deal, simply use the 50A to 30A pig tail and everything will work fine. Just be aware that you will only have a max total of 30 Amps instead of your normal 50 Amps. You will only be able to run ONE a/c unit for example. As long as you understand you'll have 40% less amperage capacity, all will be well. If you load things (use electricity) at a rate of more than the 30 Amps, you'll simply trip the breaker on the rv park post to the one in your "breaker box". No big deal, reset and unplug something and you'll be fine!
Since OP's trailer is only 30A, it shouldn't be a problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5er_tom View Post
Twice I needed the 50 to 30 converter. They are not that expensive and a good piece of insurance.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
X2

Should be between $15 - $20. More if you go to an actual camping store.
__________________

__________________
Iwritecode is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp, service

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.