Old 09-28-2015, 11:26 PM   #1

8289 Black tank flush out

Hi
Our new 5er model 8289 has a black water tank flush line that you can use instead of the toilet wand. We tried it on our first trip out but we are not sure how it or if it works. Can anyone out there tell us how you use yours? Thanks

Old 09-29-2015, 09:05 AM   #2

I have a Windjammer, if it's like the one on mine, I use it like this.

I dump the black tank, then I hook up a water hose to the black tank flush on the camper. Here;s what I do that the directions say not to do, I then close the black tank drain valve. I turn on the water and let it run for a few minutes. While its running I can hear the water spaying into the tank, I listen for the sound to change, don't know how to describe what the change sounds like. When it changes I turn off the water and drain the tank again. I usually do this two or three times until the water is running clear. I have a clear 90 degree elbow that I mount on the dump stand pipe coming up out of the ground.

The directions say to leave the valve open when running water thru the black tank flush but I think it does a better job if you let the water build up some in the tank before you drain it again.

strat56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2015, 09:15 AM   #3

I have the same unit, you really need a clear elbow to see it work . You drain your tank first then you hook your hose to the black tank cleaner. You will here water being sprayed inside the tank at the toilet. You could watch the clear elbow to and see a stream of water coming out. when the water turns clear and you will see it, then just shut the water off and disconnect the hose. Some people use a separate hose being your hooking it up to the black tank.
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2015, 02:24 PM   #4

I do it just like strat56 does it.

Bruce
Old 09-29-2015, 06:00 PM   #5
WFD