Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-30-2014, 02:10 PM   #61

On using the wedge, some 5th Wheel hitch manufacturers don't recommend using them. As an example, the B&W 3000 specifically says not to use a wedge, but the 3300 is capable. The 3300 is the model used for the Ford 5th wheel prep package, and I verified that it is wedge capable before buying it.

2011 Flagstaff 8526RLWS 5th Wheel
2011 Ford F250 4X4 Crewcab Superduty 6.7L Diesel
B&W 3300 Hitch for Ford 5th Wheel Prep package
Windywest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 10:09 PM   #62

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
When I talked to them about it last year, they told me it had a special sleeve that did not require lube. I think it is a proprietary thing from their indication. Being a retired engineer, I was also interested, but I am also aware of such non lube brgs, sleeves and bushings. Anyway, I'll take their word for it knowing that such things do exist and has for several years.
Thanks OC for sharing that inside info. It does satisfy some of my curiosity (but not all). I should have been born in Missouri because I like to See and Touch. Would be nice to see the mechanism some day even in a semi-drop condition to check it out.
Old 07-08-2014, 08:16 PM   #63

Only downside to the revolution in my brief experience has been occasional difficulty locking the pin when the RV is slightly out of level, or on a grade. The wedge can get in the way of a smooth lockup and require changing the approach angle, etc. Unlocking can sometimes be a trial/error extra time issue which I suppose only experience can remedy. A perfectly level truck and trailer is the ultimate remedy, here, I suppose. And you're not gonna see that a lot.
dtomstant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 09:00 PM   #64