Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2013, 05:59 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Adding a fireplace?

We have a rockwood 2604 and under the tv is a false cabinet. I was wondering if a electric fireplace is doable there. It would pull about 12.5 amps at 1500 btu's. I was wondering if the outlet would handle it, or throw the breaker
__________________

__________________
CandyLou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 06:38 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
1500 BTU fireplace/heater has a dedicated plug & breaker (from factory) in my RV. I think you'd need to do the same.
__________________

__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 06:49 PM   #3
Playtime III
 
Playtime III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 59
We just bought a free standing one from HD. It does not have the remote control but it does have a thermostat and only 1350watts (sticker says: 12.5 Amps). You should add up the Amps (or watts) of everything that will be running. You cannot exceed 15A on the circuit or 30A for all of the circuits. For example, do not try using a newer (1875w) hairdryer and the heater at the same time.
__________________
Playtime III
TT 2011 2902SS
TV 2007 F-150 SC 4x4 5.4
800 wd/dual cam sc
Playtime III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 07:00 PM   #4
Playtime III
 
Playtime III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 59
Our fireplace blows heated air out the top face of the fireplace BUT draws in room air through top and side vents of the unit's frame. If you get a similiar unit you need to be careful that the cabinet won't block the intake air.
__________________
Playtime III
TT 2011 2902SS
TV 2007 F-150 SC 4x4 5.4
800 wd/dual cam sc
Playtime III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 08:11 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Playtime III View Post
We just bought a free standing one from HD. It does not have the remote control but it does have a thermostat and only 1350watts (sticker says: 12.5 Amps). You should add up the Amps (or watts) of everything that will be running. You cannot exceed 15A on the circuit or 30A for all of the circuits. For example, do not try using a newer (1875w) hairdryer and the heater at the same time.
The wiring is not intended to be maxed out at 15 amps for the branch circuit. Just like a house, they are meant to be loaded up to 12 amps. If the factory decides a dedicated breaker and outlet are required, there was a reason.
It isn't safe to overload your branch circuits, especially if you have other stuff plugged in and in use at the same time.
__________________
Wpgrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 09:21 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
jeepman71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 251
I would be curious to know how many people on this forum use electric heaters in thier rvs. I do, it is a 750/1500 watt unit. We are careful not to plug it in with other heavy loads but in over 10 years of using this one or it's predecessor we have never had a problem.

These electric fire places are nothing more than a pretty electric heater. If you over load the circuit it will pop, if you over load the 30 amp circuit it will pop. A dedicated breaker and plug would be the best ticket if you are able to get that done.
__________________
Jim, Julie and Rags the boss.
2015 Dodge CTD 3500 Bighorn pulling 2014 Wildcat 317RL. Life is good when spent with family and friends.
jeepman71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 08:00 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepman71 View Post
I would be curious to know how many people on this forum use electric heaters in thier rvs. I do, it is a 750/1500 watt unit. We are careful not to plug it in with other heavy loads but in over 10 years of using this one or it's predecessor we have never had a problem.

These electric fire places are nothing more than a pretty electric heater. If you over load the circuit it will pop, if you over load the 30 amp circuit it will pop. A dedicated breaker and plug would be the best ticket if you are able to get that done.
Using a heater is fine. Using a heater that draws 13a for long periods with other devices plugged in at the same time can definitely cause some problems! Just because the breaker didn't trip doesn't mean you are not causing damage. The main breaker is a 30, but the branch circuit is only a 15.

Better to be safe. You can also purchase very efficient 300-800watt heaters which are better and cheaper to run. Less likely to overload the circuits as well.
__________________
Wpgrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 08:35 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by CandyLou View Post
We have a rockwood 2604 and under the tv is a false cabinet. I was wondering if a electric fireplace is doable there. It would pull about 12.5 amps at 1500 btu's. I was wondering if the outlet would handle it, or throw the breaker
I guess if you think about it, you can use the "fireplace" for its original intended purpose. Ya know they have up to 6 lamps in them for the display. If you really want a heater you can get a heater. If you want the decor of a FP, don't use its heater and don't overload your probably maxed out circuits. The heater in these things are not very efficient, no electric heater is, but some are better than the FP heater. I'm guessing your trailer has 30 amp service. Start the Microwave for popcorn, with lights and TV on and you'll be heading outside to reset the breaker!
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 09:09 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Central NY
Posts: 145
Our new Jayco has a fireplace and a switch lets you select the hot water heater or the fireplace but not both at the same time. didnt check to see if I can use the fireplace in a non heat mode while the hot water heater is selected..
__________________
2012 Jayco 33 RLDS
2004 Chevrolet Avalanche 2500
2007 TBSS AWD
Hybrid21SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 09:58 PM   #10
Grape Escape
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 774
Added a built fireplace to our Cardinal. Best addition ever. It has a normal 3 prong plug end. It can be plugged into any 110v circuit as one would in any household. Sure if you plug anything else into circuit the breaker will blow as it would on any other 15 amp receptical if it were overloaded.
Some people on these forums overthink everything
__________________

__________________
2008 Cardinal 30RKLE 5th wheel sold
2006 Rockwood 2607, 2001 Traillite
55 nights 2009, 53 for 2010
44 for 2011, 38 for 2012, 35 for 2013, 51 for 2014
dezolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.