Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2010, 10:49 AM   #1
THE NEW GUY
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: WESTMINSTER, MD
Posts: 51
Question Amp draw on ac unit

I was wondering what kind of running amp draw there is on a 15,000 a/c unit.
__________________

__________________
DAVE FIORE
2011 ROCKWOOD 2608SS
2500 AVALANCHE 8.1 3.73
rvgolfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 10:55 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
NWJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Enumclaw, WA
Posts: 2,617
Dometic lists "Compresser loaded amps" on thier 15000btu units at between 12 and 13 amps in this brochure Also a fan loaded amp draw of around 3.5amps so you would be looking at around 15 to 18 total depending on unit.
__________________

__________________
"I can fix it, and if I can't fix it, I can fix it so no one can fix it!"
Ed & Wendy
2009 Georgetown 378TS | 1998 Jeep Wrangler | 1998 Skeeter ZX202C
Nights camped in 2009: 53 | Nights camped in 2010: 55
www.nwjeepn.com
NWJeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 11:00 AM   #3
Nights Camped in 2010 - 2
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 210
Do not forget that start up ampreage can be significantly higher, which would open a breaker with other loads drawing off the circuit. Later,
__________________
George Kelly
2011 Rockwood Ultra Light 2604
Dodge RAM 1500 Larime 4x4, 5.7 HEMI
Nights Camped 2010 = 18
Nights Camped 2011 = 15
sailingsuppo46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 11:18 AM   #4
THE NEW GUY
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: WESTMINSTER, MD
Posts: 51
Thats cool because last night i had it in the drive way plugged in and it ran for about 20-30 min. And it tripped the house breaker. But its only a 15 amp circuit. Now it makes sense. Thanks for the info.
__________________
DAVE FIORE
2011 ROCKWOOD 2608SS
2500 AVALANCHE 8.1 3.73
rvgolfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 11:57 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Hipshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waco, Texas
Posts: 222
Keep in mind it is possible to trip the TT or 30 amp campground breaker. I had this happen once. The ac, tv and microwave were on and I turned on the hot water. When the electric element in the water heater kicked on the breaker in the TT tripped. I am glad I had read a post here about this or I would spent considerable time troubleshooting a nonexisting problem.
__________________
2010 Rockwood 2604SS
2008 Silverado 1500 LTZ 4X4

Great Wife and Idiot Yorkie
True Friends are like diamonds, precious and rare.
False ones like autumn leaves found everywhere
Hipshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 03:44 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
BigDTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvgolfer View Post
Thats cool because last night i had it in the drive way plugged in and it ran for about 20-30 min. And it tripped the house breaker. But its only a 15 amp circuit. Now it makes sense. Thanks for the info.
Ours will aslo trip the breaker in the driveway but only if I am using an extension cord plugged into the Camper power cable. If I use the power cable adapter plugged directly into the same outlet on ny house (15A GFCI) then the AC will run all day and never trip the breaker.
__________________

__________________
BigDTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rockwood

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.