Old 06-20-2018, 09:09 AM   #1

Castle Rock Tires

I'm new to RVing with a travel trailer and I've seem some posts that the Castle Rock tires don't do well. I have a GeoPro G19FD and love the trailer. We have pulled it about 600 miles so far with no tire issues.

I'm just wondering if I should replace them before something happens in the middle of nowhere?

cyberrick1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 09:25 AM   #2

How old are they? By the manufacture date, not your RV date.

2014 Grey Wolf 21RR
jd50i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 09:39 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberrick1 View Post
I'm new to RVing with a travel trailer and I've seem some posts that the Castle Rock tires don't do well. I have a GeoPro G19FD and love the trailer. We have pulled it about 600 miles so far with no tire issues.

I'm just wondering if I should replace them before something happens in the middle of nowhere?
Keep the air at maximum cold pressure. (before use) Don't drive like a maniac and keep reasonable speed. I recommend 65-67 and you should get good service from these tires. A lot of unnecessary scare mongers here about "China Bombs".
Some real and some not so real.

Worry less, Slow down and enjoy more. I have been doing this for 50 years and have seen blowouts on every brand of tire there is. Most of these problems are self induced. i.e. Overloaded, too much speed and low tire pressure. Take care of your tires and they will take care of you.

You only hear about the bad things that happen here and that is a small percentage of the overall people towing trailers. Like Dad said, a"a little common sense goes a long way".

Jack
jaherbst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 09:46 AM   #4

Replaced my Castle Rocks right after I bought my trailer and replaced them with Maxxis. I sold the almost new Castle Rocks for $30 each.