Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-30-2016, 01:53 AM   #1

Confused (black water flush)

Hi Folks,
This is my first attempt so please be patient.
I have a problem that may be my own fault, but I need confirmation.
While flushing out my black water tank, water ended up coming out of the vent under my kitchen sink. My Unit is a 2016 Rockwood ultra Lite with the diomond pkg. I have the sewage hard plumbed on a fixed site. Could the water pressure have been too high? or could it be that I had the Galley valve open while the automatic flush out was running for about 20 min.?

Thank You in advance for any help.
Ron M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 05:23 AM   #2

Hello Ron,

Which model Rockwood Ultra Lite do you have? Did you have the valve on your black water tank closed while trying to flush it? It could be that you may an issue with the way your unit was plumbed at the factory.

I have a 2016 Rockwood 2506S Ultra Lite and I also have it hard plumbed on a fixed site, I quickly realized that the black water tank on the control panel reads empty because it was actually wired to the gray tank at the factory, I always have both valves for the gray tanks open although on my unit it has a sticker that says the valve on the gray water tank from the kitchen should be closed to prevent sewage gasses.

I have had many travel trailers through the years and one thing I know for sure is that you never know how things are done at the factory.

I would contact Forest River customer service and explained what happen, they should be able to tell you exactly how your unit was plumbed.

Good luck.
BirdmanII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2016, 12:30 AM   #3