Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2016, 11:27 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
mgoodwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Hamilton, Canada
Posts: 13
Galley gray tank - no monitor

We have a 2014 Rockwood 8280WS with the rear kitchen. One challenge we have encountered is the lack of a level monitor on the galley tank and having it surprise us by being full quicker than expected. Has anyone added a monitor or modified the existing panel?
Also, I have read that some people have installed a balance pipe between the two gray tanks. Does anyone know where to find info on what is needed to complete the job?
__________________

__________________
mgoodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2016, 06:47 AM   #2
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,481
Are you sure that there isn't a button for the galley tank level on the control panel?
Most RV's with separate gray and galley tanks have separate buttons for each.

Some units also have a 'mini' panel near the kitchen just for the pump and galley tank level. It may be hidden in a cabinet.
__________________

__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2016, 09:01 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
mgoodwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Hamilton, Canada
Posts: 13
Nope, no button or switch on the panel and I looked inside all of the cupboards...nothing.
It's really kind of frustrating. Especially since I emailed Forest River about it and they did not reply.
__________________
mgoodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 10:06 AM   #4
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,481
I'd try emailing FR again and then I'd try calling them.

Since you have enclosed tanks, it's going to be kinda hard to look at them to see if the level probes are actually installed in the tank, but I think it's worth it to see.

If they are installed and there's wiring to them, then I'd trace the wiring as best I could and see if maybe the wrong monitor panel got installed.

Can you post a picture of the monitor panel?
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 07:22 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
mgoodwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Hamilton, Canada
Posts: 13
Thanks Bama Rambler.
I plan to contact them again tomorrow.
This is the panel that I have.
What's also weird is that the panel 3 slide positions but we are only using 2, LR and Wardrobe (Which should have been installed in position 1 and 2, in my opinion)
Note there is only one gray tank button.
__________________
mgoodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 07:42 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Oaklevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,024
After a while you get used to not having them. We do not use ours. Our older trailers did not come with the tank sensors.

__________________

2005 Dodge 3500 Cummins
2013 Puma Unleashed 356 QLB
1966 Mustang GT
1986 Mustang SVO
Sadie & Lillie Spoiled Rotten Boxers
Oaklevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 07:49 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
mgoodwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Hamilton, Canada
Posts: 13
Someone, and I'm not saying who, has a habit of using a little too much water in the kitchen sink. I was hoping a level monitor, along with my nagging, would help rectify that situation

Also, our front gray tank gets very little use. Only from washing our hands because we try to shower with local facilities if possible to save water. It would be great if we could join the two.
__________________
mgoodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 12:12 PM   #8
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,481
I'd try to find out if the sensors were installed.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 12:15 PM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,422
Do you have one or two dump outlets?


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "32"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2016, 01:35 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Looks like you only have one grey water, black, and fresh tank by the panel. So your shower, bathroom, and kitchen sink drain to one grey water tank. Unless you dry camp or don't have sewer hook ups, I usually just leave my grey water tank valve open. I have heavy water usage as well with 5 in family. My sensors also weren't reading right and with grey water about 1/3 to 1/2 full, poorer one cup of Cascade and one gallon of hot water into tank before road trip. Dumped when I arrived at destination. Sensor read correctly.
__________________

__________________
wingfield4601 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tank

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.