Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2011, 10:02 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 56
I checked all of the 12volt fuses in the trailer (power center) They are the blade style and all looked good. It's 8:00am here now so I'm going to call the dealer and see if they can get me in quick so we can still go..
__________________

__________________
spawnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 10:06 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 125
I would say the fridge is DOA or maybe a power connection came loose in transit. (had this with my radio) The fridge should just work and is fairly simple to operate. If it's a local dealer see if you can talk them into an onsite service call. (never know) Good luck, maybe the dealer may have some tips!
__________________

__________________
brianb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 10:06 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
hockeytownmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 1,124
I Roo owner has a similar issue with the fridge.

Water heater & fridge
__________________
Kristina & Family
2015 Sunseeker 3170ds
'13 Honda Pilot -Kar Kaddy 3

Nights camped in 2011/36, 2012/9, 2013/24, 2014/27; 2015/50 2016: 34
hockeytownmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 10:55 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 56
The trailer is new, but we've used it before on a few trips. The dealer said he could look at it but is swamped. I finally got the power module cover off of the outside portion and was able to check the two fuses that are on the control board. Both look good my multimeter is reading 0. (not sure if I'm using the meter correctly, googled and found some info.) I don't see anything in the power module area that would lend me to believe anything is loose.

For the fun of it, I tried running off of propane. Never heard it light. Have heard it before. I'm thinking it needs some power to be able to make the spark to light?
__________________
spawnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 11:02 AM   #15
Villa Estate 392FLFB
 
The_Stuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 1,085
yup it needs to light to get going.
__________________
One state/province at a time!
Full Timing - Salem Villa Estate - 392FLFB - Purchased July 29th 2010
The_Stuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 11:51 AM   #16
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by spawnman View Post
Ok, so the inline fuse reads 0 so that should be good. I looked at it and it says 250V at one end.
Many inline fuses that I have seen in 12 volt applications state 250 volts on the fuse. I have never seen 1 that doesn't have a clear glass middle, though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spawnman View Post
For the fun of it, I tried running off of propane. Never heard it light. Have heard it before. I'm thinking it needs some power to be able to make the spark to light?
You are correct, that you need 12 volt power for the propane spark, as well as the control board to send the signal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brianb View Post
I believe the fridge light only works when on shore power (120v) if I recall correctly.
The lite in the fridge should not need 120 volts to work.....that is part of the 12 volt side of the fridge, along with the control board so the fridge will work on propane only.
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 01:55 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 56
Well we never made it out on the trip. Have an appt with the dealer on the 4th.

Thanks for all the help.
Spawnman
__________________
spawnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 09:43 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 56
Well I picked up the trailer yesterday from the dealer that thought I should share what they found.

So they said that in testing they found the 15amp fuse labeled fridg/furnace was blown. (Not sure how I missed that, I pulled and checked them all visually). Then then installed a 20amp fuse for testing and found it worked on propane. Turned then furnace on and it spiked to 17amps. Found that somewhere behind the fridge it the fridge and furnace were wired together. So the dealer rewired it and put the fridge and the furnace on separate fuses.

Not sure why this all worked for a couple of trips. Thinking back on the last trip before it stopped, the fridge was not getting as cold as it used to. Also noticed the heater was not getting as hot as before. So maybe this will have fixed all the issues.

Really not sure about the wiring of the fridge and the furnace to the same fuse though.

Spanwman
__________________

__________________
spawnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.