Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2011, 08:29 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 56
Getting ready for trip and no power to fridge

New Rockwood 2011 2604, getting ready to leave today and the fridge has no power. I checked the fuses in the trailer and all look good. Looked outside in the power area and unplugged it from the 12v. Looked at one inline fuse but can't tell if it's good or not, not even sure what kind of fuse it is. It's not clear to see anything. Checked the outlet the fridge plugs into and it appears to be a working outlet. All I see is one blue wire that is not going anywhere. Not sure if there is some place for it or not. Can't seem to remove the power module cover. Took the one screw out at the top but it won't come off. Not sure if there is more to check behind that or not. The cover of the module says to remove and check the fuses...

I have the Dometic DM2652

Any thoughts??

Thanks
__________________

__________________
spawnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 08:34 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
1st question......does the light cut on when you open the door. If not, that is a 12 volt problem, and has nothing to do with the 120 volt side of things.
__________________

__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 08:35 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 56
No I have no light on in the fridge with the door open.
__________________
spawnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 08:46 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
Double check the power center fuses for the fridge. Unplug the fridge from the 120 volt receptacle for safety, for now. See if you can determine if the inline fuse is 12 volts of 120 volts, although I don't think systems would have a 120 volt fuse like that. Since you don't know if that fuse is good or not, pull it and replace. Still with the 120 volt side down, see if you are getting 12 volts to that fuse. If not, it has to be at the power center.
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 08:55 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 56
When you say the power center fuses, are you talking about the 15amp fuses in the trailer? if so I checked all of those and they look good.

As far as the inline fust, I don't have any extra's now and would have to make a run to the store to get one. I'm sure it's stamped on the fuse somewhere with the voltage?
__________________
spawnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 08:58 AM   #6
Grumpy Old Member
 
ChrisZazzara's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by spawnman View Post
When you say the power center fuses, are you talking about the 15amp fuses in the trailer? if so I checked all of those and they look good.

As far as the inline fust, I don't have any extra's now and would have to make a run to the store to get one. I'm sure it's stamped on the fuse somewhere with the voltage?
You might want to check the fuse with a meter, sometimes the will look OK but still show nearly and open when instpected.
__________________
ChrisZazzara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 09:48 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 56
Ok, so the inline fuse reads 0 so that should be good. I looked at it and it says 250V at one end. I've attached a couple of pics
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0527010715a.jpg
Views:	182
Size:	45.9 KB
ID:	5999   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fuse.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	42.5 KB
ID:	6000  
__________________
spawnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 09:48 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 125
I believe the 2652 has the following hook-ups - 12V, 120V, and LP. The 12v is only used for the controller, and LP/120V is used for cooling. If you are getting no response from the buttons and lights above the fridge focus on your 12V power. I believe the fridge light only works when on shore power (120v) if I recall correctly.
__________________
brianb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 09:50 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 56
So I am on shore power right now. Microwave has power and the battery's are reading full so it appears to be charging.
__________________
spawnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 09:55 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 125
Ok, so the power center should also be supplying 12 volt power to the rig (for lights, radio, fridge, etc.) You should be able to click the fridge controls and get some life (lights lighting up). If not open your power center access door and check your 12 volt fuses. They should have labeled the one for the fridge. It's a blade style fuse.
__________________

__________________
brianb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.