Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2015, 03:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 55
How can I run an extension cord in without ruining something?

We are parked long term. Have extra plugs outside at park. Would like to run an extension cord in the living room to power a space heater that won't subtract from our thirty amps. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
episodic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2015, 03:16 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,014
Yes run a Search at the Top,many Post's W/Pic on Install of Rec.through the Side for X-Cord! Youroo!!
__________________

__________________
youroo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2015, 03:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: crete,il /texas
Posts: 384
yes you can,use one that will handle the amp draw of the heater
__________________
Big Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2015, 03:20 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 631
If you have a slide out on that side, run the cord under the slide and towards the end and push it past the rubber seal if you can.
__________________
Pipeman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 08:35 AM   #5
Arn
Arn
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pipeman View Post
If you have a slide out on that side, run the cord under the slide and towards the end and push it past the rubber seal if you can.
X2. You may have to close the slide a couple of inches just to feed the cord through. I actually run an indoor extension cord with a flat plug out and connect an outdoor cord where it comes through the slide. Inside I have a power bar connected so I can run 2 heaters or a 110v cooler.
__________________
Arn
Arn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 09:18 AM   #6
Georgia Frog Rally 2018
 
aceinspp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: GA
Posts: 10,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pipeman View Post
If you have a slide out on that side, run the cord under the slide and towards the end and push it past the rubber seal if you can.
X 3 Later RJD
__________________
2015 35 FT V-Lite 30WRLIKS Diamond Package
2015 Chevy 2500 6.0 4:10 gearing.
Days camped in 2016 58
Days camped so far 2017 62
aceinspp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 09:29 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,014
Running (2) heater's from (1) Ex cord plugged into a (Power Bar) running across a Rockwood slide that is Covered with Carpet sounds like a (FIRE) Trap!! A Cord and Power Bar that would be Heavy enough to power (2) Heaters would be Large and Heavy! Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 09:41 AM   #8
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,550
Couple cautions.
Running space heaters on a power bar may cause you an insurance problem if you ever have fire damage. Most every space heater has a warning not to run it on an extension/power strip. If investigator determines power bar caused fire, they could deny coverage.

Check with your park, just because there is a 30A and one or two 15A outlets in your pedestal does not mean that there is more than ( or much more than) 30A to that pedestal. Most RV parks/campgrounds will have a tree system of electrical service with other breakers upstream. For 30A pedestals usually they have 3 of them on a 100A breaker upstream. If each of the three sites uses 34 together at anytime, the 100A breaker will trip. This is significant as it usually means you need to find staff to unlock and reset breaker.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 11:34 AM   #9
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Last week, I wired in an outlet inside for that very purpose...used gfi inside and a weather proof outside box........right underneath the 30 amp plug-in. WARM now!!
__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 12:06 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
DaveSchwartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Waterloo Region
Posts: 717
I used to snake an extension cord through the slide gasket before I finished putting out the slide but after a few times I decided to I install this in the side of a slide closest to the 30A power inlet. Just had to cut a 2" hole with a hole saw (be careful to be a few inches up from the bottom to avoid the aluminum frame). Its very low profile on the outside (so it won't damage the gasket) and is on the interior when the slide is retracted. I use a 12 gauge single-receptacle extension cord (50', sometimes 2... thus the 12 guage and, yes, that's over 10 pounds of cable I carry). I've never been anywhere that didn't have a separately-breakered 15A receptable in addition to the 30A outlet on the post.
__________________

__________________
2015 Rockwood Signature UltraLite 8282WS Platinum, GY Marathon LRD, TST 507RV TPMS
2005 GMC 2500HD CCSB D/A, Curt E16, Prodigy P2, Garmin RV760LMT w/BC-20 b/u cam

Self restraint is for the young. I'm old and want it NOW!
DaveSchwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.