Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-13-2015, 11:53 AM   #1

Looking at 8289WS

What a great forum for a person like myself looking to purchase my first TT. I am a real newbie to this but my DW and I are very excited to hit the national parks.

We are considering putting a down payment on a 2015 Rockwood 2829WS Fifth wheel tomorrow. It has the Diamond package and being a 2015 we feel we are getting a good deal compared to other TT's we have seen. Main competitor is a Cougar Ultra-Lite. Probably a silly question on a Rockwood forum, but is the Rockwood brand good compared to Cougar (Keystone)?

Any suggestions for things I need to be vigilant in checking during my walk through?

Advice for purchasing the right supplemental needs the first time wold be very helpful.

Is it hard to find repair if needed on the road away from home? Good/Bad chains I should be aware of?

BTW, I have a 2009 F-250 to haul it. Yes it is gas but I believe it should be okay for this trailer (about 8300 lbs before cargo)

I have a lot to learn but man am I looking forward to this adventure.

Thanks for all the good advice I have already seen on this site! It is so cool that smart and experienced people are willing to take the time to help this of us with less experience.

Ed
Appalachian Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 12:57 PM   #2
Owner/Operator

I'll jump in and mention that many 8289WS owners regret not having the 50 Amp service update, and the second Air Conditioner.

I don't know if the one you are looking at has those options, but something to consider, particularly if you plan on camping in hot weather.

Other than that, I think you will be pleased with the 8289WS.

RodeoGeorge
All My Modifications are at this link:
https://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ons-36212.html
RodeoGeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 01:34 PM   #3