Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-18-2008, 09:24 PM   #1
Cyber Phrenologist

Smile New 8280SS - what I like!

Well, as total newbies we towed the thing about 700 miles through all sort of (summer) weather conditions on just about every kind of road surface and traffic conditions.

We stayed in a KOA and 2 state parks, for a total of 7 nights.

Here's our first impressions of the new camper:

Stuff we like:

NO LEAKS! ANYWHERE!!

Has very good towing manners, no problem for the F-150 to pull. Very well behaved on uneven, bumpy roads and on the freeway with big trucks passing.
I will improve transmission cooling (yes, I have the tow package) before next summer.

The kitchen! Huge counter space and more cabinet space than I think we'll ever need. Massive pantry.
The way the faucet head is also a spray nozzle on a hose and looks and works great at the same time.
The lift tubes on the overhead cabinets keep the doors firmy open OR shut.
The refrigerator worked great in 90 degree heat, and so did the A/C. In fact all the major systems we used on the trip were flawless. Did not use water pump or furnace. Even the Concertone XZ600 worked great!
The matress is a full (real) queen and slept very well.
The lights in the basement! And by the steps.
All the chairs are comfy, we saw no problems with interior fit and finish. Like the hidden storage in the dining room chair seats. (Shhh! It's a secret)
We like all the storage in the bedroom, three wardrobes and some drawers.
The toilet room has a window! Like the open bath layout. Like the tiny tub in the bottom of the shower.

Improvements Forest River made:

The water pump relocated to make more cabinet space. And is on the opposite end of the trailer from the bedroom.
The slide out motor relocated to somewhere besides between the street side wheels, under the slide...now protected and out of the way...somewhere.