Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-21-2015, 10:58 PM   #1

New Forest River Owner in over his head

Hi,

My wife and I decided to go full timing. We've done it. We've downsized and are currently living in a 2715VS Rockwood.

I've got so many questions. I've never done anything like this before. We spent 3 hours trying to figure out how to unhitch.

I'm parked at a site with 50 amp service. I have a surge protector. I have a water filter, and spent the day getting a hose wrapped.

I was told that the tank water heaters would protect my unit from the cold (yes, I now suspect I was lied to).

I'm looking at skirting the unit now with some bubble foil insulation.
(Can someone tell me the best cheapest, easiest way to attach that to the rv without damaging the paint).

I know I have 3 tanks to drain. Can someone help me understand what to do? I'm going to order a better drain hose. I know the one that came with it isn't very useful (I can't even get the coupler in the hose).

The dealer filled it with potable water. Should I leave that there for now? We are staying in place until May.

As cold as it gets around here is 20ish, and it always warms to at least 40-60 the next day. Any advice here is appreciated.

Are the long metal pipes from front to back that are visible from the underbelly water or propane pipes? If they are water pipes, should I put heat tape on them?

This has been a dream for a while. My wife and I have always wanted a tiny house, but they are never allowed anywhere near here due to zoning.

We live in central AZ, around 5000 feet. Not as cold as Flagstaff, but not as hot as Phoenix.

How long does a 7lb propane tank last if you run the heater on 60-65 at night and cook a little? Just averages is what I'm looking for.

I know this is idiotic, but I've never even had a propane grill. When you bring a tank to someone do 'they' fill it?