Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-27-2009, 11:35 PM   #1

Newbie towing - need quick advice

Hey folks .. You guessed right ! I'm a NEWBIE. I am going to look at a Roo 23SS (~4000lb dry) tomorrow morning. My wife has already decided "we are going to buy it". Assuming shes right and she usually is ....... will my 08 Tacoma - Crew Cab - long bed - V6 Auto handle it with a 6500lb. max tow?

Will I need weight distribution and sway control? I want to be safe. I am thinking one of the new straight line distribution and sway rigs with 600lb bars. The Roo 23ss showes 367lb tongue weight. Does this sound about right? No regrets?
Lake Murray Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 12:31 AM   #2
Cyber Phrenologist

Look in your owners manual for the tow ratings for this vehicle. Or google for "trailer life" tow ratings. Push come to shove, ask the service people at the dealer where you bought the truck what the numbers are.

And the RV dealer my have a copy of Trailer Life's tow ratings for 2008 or 2009. Ask them. Remember to allow added weight for all the stuff you'll take along it the truck and trailer. And then throw in some safety margin.

You'll probably be fine.

And welcome to the forum!

Radio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 07:18 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lake Murray Man View Post
Hey folks .. You guessed right ! I'm a NEWBIE. I am going to look at a Roo 23SS (~4000lb dry) tomorrow morning. My wife has already decided "we are going to buy it". Assuming shes right and she usually is ....... will my 08 Tacoma - Crew Cab - long bed - V6 Auto handle it with a 6500lb. max tow?

Will I need weight distribution and sway control? I want to be safe. I am thinking one of the new straight line distribution and sway rigs with 600lb bars. The Roo 23ss showes 367lb tongue weight. Does this sound about right? No regrets?