Old 01-21-2015, 10:25 PM   #1

Newbie Winterizing Question

Hello everyone! I will be picking up my new Mini-Light 2505S on Saturday. I'm completely new to RV ownership, although I have rented a trailer before. I live in the Pacific Northwest, where temperatures occasionally dip below freezing, especially at night. We plan to camp on average one weekend a month or so during the winter. Does that mean we have to winterize it after every trip?

-Jeff

Old 01-21-2015, 11:06 PM   #2
Fulltime family RVer

I would blow out the lines in prep for freezing weather. For the most part, it takes me almost as long to get my air compressor and blowout plug setup than it does to actually blow out the lines.

Old 01-21-2015, 11:50 PM   #3

So blowing the lines should be sufficient? I don't have to put in antifreeze?
Old 01-22-2015, 12:42 AM   #4
Fulltime family RVer

Quote:
Originally Posted by jheinen View Post
So blowing the lines should be sufficient? I don't have to put in antifreeze?

If it doesn't freeze for days at a time, I likely wouldn't bother with antifreeze. Just make sure you blow out *everything*: toilets, shower heads (inside and out), sinks, washer/dryer hookups, black tank flushes, you name it!
Old 01-22-2015, 04:44 AM   #5
Engineer of Crazy Train

I will add, if you are expecting a long freeze, I would put some antifreeze in the P-traps. But, if you are using, I would just drain and blow. Make sure you get your low point drains and drain your hot water heater.
Locomotive Engineer
Nights Camping --- 2015 - 19 Camped | Winterized -- 2014 -18
Come read my Camping Blogs
ChooChooMan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 01:29 PM   #6
TGR

I live in a much colder climate so I go all out when winterizing.