Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2013, 07:37 PM   #1
Senior Moment
 
rockport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 178
Rockwood A/C Issue

Well we took out new 8289ws out this weekend for first trip, weather was great, actually was a little warm. so we ran the A\C's for the first time, I have the upgrade with the 2nd ac in the bedroom. Problem is the main A/C which I believe to be the 15k ac, does not seem to be putting out very cold air, the 13.5k ac in the bedroom was blowin and goin.. noticed on the progressive remote display when only running the main a/c shows about 10-12 amps draw .

Guess I will have to take it in and have the main ac tested. will see how good RV Wholesalers warranty network is..

Other than that everything worked great and we really enjoyed the floor plan..
__________________

__________________
rockport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 07:40 PM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,157
Sounds like the compressor is not running; just the fan. The total amps are too low for two compressors.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 07:43 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
Sounds like the compressor is not running; just the fan. The total amps are too low for two compressors.
X2

30 amp minimum with two a/c's goin
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 07:55 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
Maybe to clarify, the 10-12 amps was when just the main AC was running and the second one off? If this is the case was there a difference when you had the quick cool vent open vs. running through the vents and distributing through the camper? If so you might want to check the ductwork and even how the AC is sealed up from the inside.

I have never checked the load when just the AC was running but could 10-12 be correct with nothing else but a single AC on (maybe not startup, but running)?
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 07:57 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by QCCowboy View Post
Maybe to clarify, the 10-12 amps was when just the main AC was running and the second one off? If this is the case was there a difference when you had the quick cool vent open vs. running through the vents and distributing through the camper? If so you might want to check the ductwork and even how the AC is sealed up from the inside.

I have never checked the load when just the AC was running but could 10-12 be correct with nothing else but a single AC on (maybe not startup, but running)?
One a/c and converter will most likely be around 12-15 amps yes.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 08:04 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockport View Post
noticed on the progressive remote display when only running the main a/c shows about 10-12 amps draw .
So now we need clarification from the OP....it could be bad sealing of the vents. Had the same problem with last camper and with a couple dollars for aluminum tape and my time the AC worked beautifully.
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 08:18 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
keven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 122
We the same problem with our Rockwood a/c. It ended up being the a/c had a clog which took out the compressor. FR replaced the entire a/c unit didn't even try to fix it.
__________________
keven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 09:55 PM   #8
Senior Moment
 
rockport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 178
sorry for the confusion, yes that number was with just the main ac running, nothing else in trailer on, and hooked up to house outlet with adapter. While at the campground this weekend, had 50 amp service and with both ac's running the remote display showed line 1 about 13 amps and line 2 also 12-15 amps.. tried unit with quick cool and with ducted, the air flow seems to be there just not very cold coming from the main unit. The bedroom unit which is also ducted thru the trailer was much cooler air.. (but was quite loud).
Being hooked up to regular outlet at home, the main ac running and nothing else shows 9-10 amps only.. may not be enough power to run the 15k compressor, not sure..
__________________
rockport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 11:24 PM   #9
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockport View Post
sorry for the confusion, yes that number was with just the main ac running, nothing else in trailer on, and hooked up to house outlet with adapter. While at the campground this weekend, had 50 amp service and with both ac's running the remote display showed line 1 about 13 amps and line 2 also 12-15 amps.. tried unit with quick cool and with ducted, the air flow seems to be there just not very cold coming from the main unit. The bedroom unit which is also ducted thru the trailer was much cooler air.. (but was quite loud).
Being hooked up to regular outlet at home, the main ac running and nothing else shows 9-10 amps only.. may not be enough power to run the 15k compressor, not sure..
That is more like it with two ACs running.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 11:50 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockport View Post
sorry for the confusion, yes that number was with just the main ac running, nothing else in trailer on, and hooked up to house outlet with adapter. While at the campground this weekend, had 50 amp service and with both ac's running the remote display showed line 1 about 13 amps and line 2 also 12-15 amps.. tried unit with quick cool and with ducted, the air flow seems to be there just not very cold coming from the main unit. The bedroom unit which is also ducted thru the trailer was much cooler air.. (but was quite loud).
Being hooked up to regular outlet at home, the main ac running and nothing else shows 9-10 amps only.. may not be enough power to run the 15k compressor, not sure..

Sounds like a trip to the dealer is in order. Perhaps the main A/C unit is low on refrigerant as the amps says that the compressor is running but output isn't cold.

Dave
__________________

__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 AM.