Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2016, 08:49 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 29
Stupid TV question

Bought a 2304ks in January, out to Jekkyl Island in April--had issues trying to get cable channels to Furrion 24". It would scan and rescan--second day it suddenly allowed you to choose a channel and we forgot about it. In Beaufort SC now at campground with Comcast, go thru setup, scan, asks for channel scan--and won't get past that. I"ve tried all the tips I found here, turning on and off the boost (that really is for antenna though isn't it?)--we even ran the cable directly from box to TV-no help.

It shows 130 some RF channels, no total of channels found, no digital or analog of course (I can't remember if there was a total of channels at Jekkyl or not) but I cannot go beyond this. I followed the steps in the manual--and it appears like our TVs at home (though they are on digital boxes so no RF channels).

I am a pretty techy person--not TV though obviously LOL, but normally I can work through tech issues. This has me totally buffaloed and so we have been TV minus all week--so have eaten through streaming data on phone and Ipad to speakers for music and streaming stations, NPR, etc (via TuneIn app mostly).

Tried calling Furrion support but only got voice mail and don't really expect much help from them. OUr dealer didn't seem to know what an RF channel was either LOL tho ( I actually do know).

So hoping someone got a Furrion TV in their unit and has the same issue--or maybe we have a defective TV. Not above buying a new TV if that's the case--noticed in googling that the Sony TVs had options for dealing with RF channels--they mentioned having a particular channel, like 3 or 4, that you used to watch. I can't even get to a channel--I get message to do channel scan.

Thanks for any help.

Diane
__________________

__________________
Picnic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 10:03 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
raspivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brazoria County, Texas
Posts: 1,276
I've never tried cable on either of mine. Not a big TV watcher when camping. What I remember is, booster needs to be OFF and TV source set to CABLE and not AIR. I've got no way to play with it where it's parked now or I'd go see what I could find.
__________________

__________________
2012 Chevy Tahoe LTZ - HD tow package
2017 Rockwood 2703WS Emerald Edition
raspivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 11:01 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 29
Thanks. We are rather past our camping days (used to tent camp & small TT) and so this is more mobile hotel room LOL. So--nice in evening to watch. I tried air and am able to get about 5 digital, 58 RF channels but only see digital (and signal is iffy even turning antenna) but we DO have cable in campground. Problem is it scans and continues to ask for channel scans each time it reaches end rather than go to the channel numbers as it does with antenna. Booster turned off, cable selected, scan done-nada.

The RF channels are what are transmitted via cable so something is wrong--now I wonder if we have a wiring issue or the cable we are using between source on box and RV(which has it plugged into cable--satellite is also a choice--tried both). Problem is no way to check it once we are not in campground as far as I can determine--our cable at home is digital with box but both campgrounds we have been at have straight cable, no box. Its a conundrum for sure--but someone has to have had a similar issue.

Thanks very much for your answer.
__________________
Picnic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 11:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
raspivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brazoria County, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Starting to sound like a loose connection somewhere. Wouldn't be the first time something wasn't hooked up right from the factory. Hopefully it will be an easy fix.
__________________
2012 Chevy Tahoe LTZ - HD tow package
2017 Rockwood 2703WS Emerald Edition
raspivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 11:17 PM   #5
Professional Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 523
One campground we stayed at has digital cable, but you had to check out a box from the front desk to access it...
__________________
2014 Coachmen Catalina 253RKS
2016 Keystone Summerland Mini 1750RD
2012 F250 Lariat 6.2L Crew Cab FX4
wrvond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 11:32 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 29
Nope--unfortunately

No, both have direct--even asked when we came in. At Jekyll Island in GA it scanned several times, had a number of RF channels but took a number of scans to get it to allow using channels--just out of the blue the second day when I tried again.

At this one, about 130 RF channels (from Comcast and desk gave us a channel guide) but it just goes immediately to "do channel scan" as soon as it finishes the first one. Very strange. The antenna scan worked, opened the first channel as soon as it finished--unfortunately we are midway between Savannah and Charleston and none of the channels are stable.

We are going to buy a new coax cable tomorrow and try--someone on another forum when I googled suggested the pin might not be long enough for a similar issue.

Diane
__________________
Picnic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 08:36 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
53flattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 178
I have heard reports of coax cables being left loose behind the wall plates and/or being switched between cable/sat. Although, it sounds like you've been able to get yours to work intermittently, which tells me that it might be an issue with the TV itself?


2015 Rockwood 2306
2015 Tundra CrewMax
__________________
53flattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 08:47 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Benbrook, Tx
Posts: 218
In my Brookstone we have the Furrion TV's. I personally think they are junk for the most part. My opinion of course. The one in the front bedroom takes approximately 30 minutes to scan channels and then at the end, it just might scan again. Not exaggerating. It will eventually lock them in and the picture is not terrible. I'm just hoping for the day when I drop it accidentally and have to put a Samsung in there. I know my post might not be of any help to you but I just wanted to pass my experience with the Furrion.


Luckily I did drop my living room Furrion and replaced it with a nice Samsung. I honestly didn't mean to drop it. Actually had it on it's stand on the shelf and forgot about it when I moved the trailer. I'm sure didn't take long for it to fall off the shelf and go boom. I hated the wall mount and was in the process of putting one up that extended out and just forgot to take it off the shelf and lay it on the bed. Oh well, We have a nice tv in there now.
__________________
Dwayne and Susan
Jiro and Phoebe-4 legged family members
Mike and Dana - Traveling buddies
2016 Ford F350 XLT 6.7 Powerstroke DRW 4X4
2016 Brookstone 395RL
dwayneb236 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 09:22 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 29
I tend to agree with you--never heard of the brand prior to getting it with trailer. We have either a Sony or Samsung in same size I think, not being used so will try it or buy new one I think. The problem is once we leave this CG don't know of a way to test it for cable (we are able to get air but so far away that channels aren't stable)--since ours at home requires digital box (Charter). We are going to buy new cable today since we did eventually get cable to work at Jekyll GA CG to see if we hve a bad cable (bought at last CG) but I try, rescan, nothing here and obviously people all around us are using it. Will also try our dealer again who is pretty responsive but not sure how much they can help with a cable issue.


Diane
__________________
Picnic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 09:33 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
kdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Posts: 262
Stupid TV question

We also had trouble getting a signal at Jekyll Island until we discovered that you had to select the one of six (?) routers in the campground that was closest to us. That happened to be the camp office. Once we selected that one, we no longer had problems.

Kdot
__________________

__________________
Location: Wisconsin
2016 Rockwood A 213 HW
2016 Honda Odyssey
kdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 AM.