Old 02-25-2015, 08:59 PM   #1
Captain Capps
Send a message via Skype™ to silica
TT vs 5th wheel

I am not experienced with TT or 5th wheel advantages or cons. I traveled all all around th e US with a forest river Lexington GTS PULLING a ford escape, but now want to either purchase a TT or 5th wheel. When I talk to dealers or read the forum it appears TTS are not safe to pull and are dangerous. If TTS are as unsafe as they are they have such a poor reputation why does FOREST RIVER still manufacture them. I've read the forum on TT sway and problems with being blown off the road by trucks on the interstate with great apprehension. I would like to hear from owners of both types of rvs.
My experience with the Lexington class B was a wonderful 11 month tour but found the interior noise of plates and pans rattling while on the road a real pain. Truckers also pushed the rv around as they passed by. The other problem was getting stuck when I went into dead ends and couldn't back up with tow vehicle attached.

silica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 09:14 PM   #2
(Dry Huunday)
A properly outfitted TT and tow vehicle isn't anymore unsafe than a 5th wheel(not saying a fiver is unsafe). I have towed fivers and I will say they towed great. I experience zero sway issues with my TT even on the interstates with big rigs flying by. My combo is very comfortable to drive and pretty much stress free.

Beau & Sue
FurKid Express
2015 Coachmen Catalina 303RLS
2016 Chevy Silverado LT 2500HD Duramax
The more people I meet, the more I like my dogs!
DreiHunde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 09:38 PM   #3
I have never felt unsafe with my TTs. Yes, there is a little sway when trucks pass, but that comes with the territory and I have never had so much sway that it felt dangerous. If you have your truck and trailer set up right it is just fine.

I like having a TT because I can still throw things in the bed of the truck when traveling.