Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2015, 10:16 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 38
TV questions

OK, I have the Rockwood 8329SS as noted in my signature. Haven't gone anywhere with it but have used it at home a few times. Set up the TV and originally got about 12 channels - which is not bad for the fringe area where it is located. This is not cable, just using the antenna.

Had some work done at the dealer - nothing near the TV - and after we got it back I couldn't get any channels, at all. It kept telling me to check the connection, Brought it back for other work and also had them check the TV. Without even raising the antenna they got 6 channels and some came in quite good. After I got back home - again, no channels at all. It is possible that we are getting no reception but it seems odd.

Anyway, I will be leaving to head south in a bit and where we are staying has cable. Hopefully that will make things OK but I have never hooked up to cable so...is there anything I need to do to my set-up besides just hooking the cable to the TT? Where exactly does the cable hook up and do I need to move or reconnect anything since it is currently running through an antenna?

Bet you can't tell I'm new at this can you????
__________________

__________________

2016 Rockwood Signature Ultra Lite 8329SS
2004 Dodge Ram 3500 (Sterling) Auto w/built trans, 4X4 Quad Cab 5.9L Cummins
mikemc53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 06:15 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
etcmss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: this unit is in Florida
Posts: 115
tv reception

it sounds like the booster amp may not be on for antenna tv after return from dealer.
remember that when using cable the booster is off and then scan for channels.
Gary
__________________

__________________
etcmss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 06:27 AM   #3
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 13,300
also, did you re-scan the channels after you moved to new location?
__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 06:55 AM   #4
Site Team
 
Platokidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: top side land of Lincoln
Posts: 6,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikendan View Post
also, did you re-scan the channels after you moved to new location?
X2, every time we go out to our seasonal spot I always find it best to re-scan.
Channels have a habit of disappearing even tho the camper dont move.
__________________
2014 LaCrosse 323RST-TE-C
2009 Chevy 2500HD Z71
nights of camping
2017-67 / 16-92 / 15-73 / 14-60 / 13-33
Seasonal
Platokidd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 08:42 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 38
Did the rescan after returning from dealer and found no channels at all. Where is the booster amp and how do I turn it off for cable?

Is the cable hookup the one on outside of the trailer near the auxiliary AC outlet?
__________________

2016 Rockwood Signature Ultra Lite 8329SS
2004 Dodge Ram 3500 (Sterling) Auto w/built trans, 4X4 Quad Cab 5.9L Cummins
mikemc53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 10:47 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Jim34RL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Oswego il
Posts: 1,195
The booster could be located anywhere in the trailer. I had one in the bedroom area and another was in the kitchen area on my other trailers.
Now with that being said I would first look behind the TV where your antenna lead is connected to the wall plate. See if there is a push button and a small LED light this should be the booster for the TV antenna.



The plate may look like this:


Winegard RV 7012 Wall Plate TV 12 Volt Power Supply | eBay
__________________
Jim W.
2016 34RL CC; 2008 Ram Mega Cab 2500HD, 6.7L, 68RFE 6 speed, 4X4, Smarty S67, TDR 112K+miles
Jim34RL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 10:54 AM   #7
Site Team
 
Platokidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: top side land of Lincoln
Posts: 6,438
Mines on the ceiling in the bedroom, last unit it was in a cabinet near the tv
__________________
2014 LaCrosse 323RST-TE-C
2009 Chevy 2500HD Z71
nights of camping
2017-67 / 16-92 / 15-73 / 14-60 / 13-33
Seasonal
Platokidd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2015, 08:41 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 38
OK...found the antenna booster and it was off. Turned it on and now get a number of channels. Thanks everyone!

What is kind of odd is that the booster is part of a plate that is not actually behind the TV (where all of the cabling is) but it is under the TV in a separate compartment in the entertainment center. That compartment has multiple plates with power and auxiliary outlets. The plate with the booster button has two cable connectors that say Auxiliary&AT and TV. There is nothing connected to them. Behind the actual TV all of the cables (4) come out of the wall and go directly to the TV. One is the antenna (white), one is an HDMI cable that goes to the side of the TV, one is a blue cable that goes to an auxiliary outlet on the back of the TV and one is power.

My confusion comes in two ways: If the antenna cable is hooked directly to the TV, how does the booster button effect it? Unless it actually goes to the back of the noted plate, prior to routing to the TV. Also, when I hook up cable at a campground do I need to hook up, or change any, cabling inside the TT? Currently I have a white cable that goes to an antenna connection on the back of the TV. When I hook up to the cable, how will that connection be recognized by the TV?

This may seem rudimentary to most, and I have never had an issue in my homes but I want to be clear when I arrive down south next week.

Thanks again, gang.
__________________

2016 Rockwood Signature Ultra Lite 8329SS
2004 Dodge Ram 3500 (Sterling) Auto w/built trans, 4X4 Quad Cab 5.9L Cummins
mikemc53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2015, 09:01 AM   #9
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,733
You probably have a cable TV connection on the outside of your rig??
Plug the camp ground cable to the outside connection on your rig.
Turn the inside booster OFF.
Set TV for cable reception and do a channel scan.

For antenna use crank up antenna turn ON booster and set TV for air/antenna and do a
channel scan.

That's all!
Happy Trails!
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2004 5.3L Silverado 1500 ext. cab 2WD
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch, AirLift load levelers

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41,
2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2015, 09:03 AM   #10
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
No cable changes for park cable....turn off booster, menu program on tv....enter ant/cable mode, select cable, scan for channels.....the wall plate with the Sat. label, in this 2010 model, is for adding a sat. receiver box. From outside Sat. connector to inside wall plate is a direct cable with no splitters
__________________

__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.