Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2012, 02:57 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
slipf18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 264
Question Electrical moron DQOTD...

My SP 240 is rated for 30 amp service. Can I use an adapter to take advantage of a 50 amp service panel in a campsite I plan to visit?
__________________

__________________
slipf18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 03:10 PM   #2
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 13,243
yes, just get a 50a to 30a adapter. most CG's that have 50a sites, have 30a outlets also in the box.
very few CG's are 50a only.
__________________

__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 11:43 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
slipf18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 264
Cool Like I said...

... "Dumb Question Of The Day...". Thanks so much for the info, Bikendan! Will get one of those adapters.
__________________
slipf18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 12:06 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by slipf18 View Post
... "Dumb Question Of The Day...". Thanks so much for the info, Bikendan! Will get one of those adapters.

Save your money and forget the 50 to 30A adapter. I've yet to see a site post with 50A not also have the 30 and 20A outlets. The 50 to 30A adapter still only allows 30A to your camper.

Dave
__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 12:11 PM   #5
camping
 
tentcamper1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Elkhart, Indiana
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Monica View Post
Save your money and forget the 50 to 30A adapter. I've yet to see a site post with 50A not also have the 30 and 20A outlets. The 50 to 30A adapter still only allows 30A to your camper.

Dave
Sauder Village in Ohio only hs 50 / 20's, however they will let you use one of their adapters. I would get the adapter-
__________________

2007 Chevy 2500HD CC
2010 V-Lite 30WRLTS
Nights Camped 2011 -64
Nights Camped 2012 -50
"I Live in My Own World, But It's OK. They Know Me"
tentcamper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 12:16 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Although having the adapter is not a bad idea, you could always call/email the campground ahead of time and find out if their power posts have 30A /20A/15A along with the 50A.
__________________
Old Jeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 12:37 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
punkaccountant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Monica View Post
Save your money and forget the 50 to 30A adapter. I've yet to see a site post with 50A not also have the 30 and 20A outlets. The 50 to 30A adapter still only allows 30A to your camper.

Dave
I've been in campgrounds that had 50 amp only. They let use one of theirs but I had to put a $20 deposit on it.
__________________
punkaccountant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 02:00 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,329
I stand corrected...I've never seen the need for that adapter before.

Dave
__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 02:36 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
i've only seen one that had a 50 and a 20 in Kentucky near the evans williams bottle plant. they loaned the 50/30 adapter. that mix certainly hasn't been the norm.
i was hoping that u weren't wanting to adapt down to take advantage of the higher amps available. ur 30a main in the trailer should protect the trailer. the supply line wont b as protected. the only time that would come into play is if something happened between the site and ur main...not very likely.
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 12:16 PM   #10
Site Team
 
acadianbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Monica View Post
I stand corrected...I've never seen the need for that adapter before.

Dave
I can see where you would say that Dave. I've never seen one without 30 amp either. Never say never huh? I don't have an adaptor and I'm not going to get one. I would save the money too.
__________________

__________________
http://i421.photobucket.com/albums/pp297/acadianbob/IMG_2757.jpg
2012 F150 FX4 Ecoboost, 2016 Surveyor 274BHS
2003 Yamaha FJR1300, Demco Premiere Slider
1969 John Deere 1020, 1940 Ford 9N, 1948 Ford 8N
Jonsered 535, Can of WD-40, Duct Tape
Red Green coffee mugs
acadianbob is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 AM.