Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-10-2013, 11:13 AM   #1

Forest River Surveyor Questions

Hello folks

Since I'm new to this RV TT thing I have been reading a lot of the post these last few days trying to learn more from your experiences, and for this I Thank YOU ALL !!

It's an interesting learning curve ..............

I do have a few questions;

1. My wife has a friend who has TT, don't know what brand or year, but information was relayed to my wife that if we have or TT's electrical cord hooked to our house current as it sits out side in our RV pad, that it could over charge the batteries.

I have a 2014 220 Surveyor Sport, does anybody know if this could be true on this new model?

2. In addition the dealer during their inspection of the unit filled the 46 gal. fresh water tank, we do not plan to use the water in the TT as it sits at our home, would it be recommended to drain the tank? The Grey and Black tanks are empty according to the meters.

3. What would be the best way to tell just how much Propane is in my two tanks ? A gauge ? and or one of those strips you can magnet to the side of tank ?

4. Lastly I understand that the batteries may not have a cut off switch unless you disconnect the cables, if this is correct? does anybody have a diagram of how to install one. I use to have a 30' Fairliner Boat that have one but it came with it. Or is it even necessary to have one ?

Thanks Again for any input !!

Avan
Avan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 12:14 PM   #2

Welcome to the Surveyor world!
Plugging into your house will not overcharge the batteries. (I have a SP220 as well)
I think your fresh water tank is actually 36 gallons and yes you should empty it. There is a hose hanging down with a cap on the end between the steps and your tire. Take off the end to empty. If you see two hoses together, that is your low point drain lines.