Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2013, 01:14 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 40
Generator for AC

Since summer is coming, I thought I would post this since it may help someone else.

We have a Surveyor Select 264 with one 13,500 BTU AC unit. We wanted a generator to power the AC and also charge our two batteries when we wilderness camp.
We need battery power to run the fridge.

Looking at all of the generators, we decided on a Yamaha 2400 because of the following reasons.
1. The Yamaha web site says this model will power most 13,500 BTU RV air conditioners.
2. The generator is fairly light weight, only 75 Lbs. dry.
3. The generator is quiet, only 53 to 60 dBA.

Well brand new camper, brand new generator and NO AC.
Ya the generator will not run the AC.

Installed a SUPCO SPP SUPER BOOST AC hard start kit. Cost about $10, took less than 30 minutes to install.
Now I have AC.

This may also work if you are trying to run your AC with a 2000 watt generator.
I know some people that do.

GeoFish
__________________

Geofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:53 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 103
Thanks GeoFish! I sent your suggeston to my husband. Hopefully it will work. We only have a 2000 W. For $10.00, it doesn't hurt to try.
__________________

nvrsaynvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 10:06 AM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,485
This helps tremendously as well.

air conditioner for generator mod
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 10:37 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
lswartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geofish View Post
Since summer is coming, I thought I would post this since it may help someone else.

We have a Surveyor Select 264 with one 13,500 BTU AC unit. We wanted a generator to power the AC and also charge our two batteries when we wilderness camp.
We need battery power to run the fridge.

Looking at all of the generators, we decided on a Yamaha 2400 because of the following reasons.
1. The Yamaha web site says this model will power most 13,500 BTU RV air conditioners.
2. The generator is fairly light weight, only 75 Lbs. dry.
3. The generator is quiet, only 53 to 60 dBA.

Well brand new camper, brand new generator and NO AC.
Ya the generator will not run the AC.

Installed a SUPCO SPP SUPER BOOST AC hard start kit. Cost about $10, took less than 30 minutes to install.
Now I have AC.

This may also work if you are trying to run your AC with a 2000 watt generator.
I know some people that do.

GeoFish
I have the same quiet generator but have not tried it on the AC yet. I suspect that I will have the same problem. What is the part # & where did you get it for $10? I found one from Granger for $16.72 SUPCO Hard Start Kit, AC Compressor - Cooling Equipment Relays - 4E239|SPP5 - Grainger Industrial Supply but it may not be the right one.
__________________
2013 Rockwood Mini Lite 2109S
2010 Toyota Tundra 4WD
lswartz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 10:45 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
bob213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
This helps tremendously as well.

air conditioner for generator mod
I'm still alittle confused. Should we disregard everything until post 14?

Also to restate what I was told by Suppco, the correct Hard Start Cap is the SPP6. No need for the (E) version.
If you have an existing Start Cap you replace it. If you only have a Run Cap you "piggyback" the new "start cap" to the "run cap".
bob213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 11:09 AM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob213 View Post

I'm still alittle confused. Should we disregard everything until post 14?

Also to restate what I was told by Suppco, the correct Hard Start Cap is the SPP6. No need for the (E) version.
If you have an existing Start Cap you replace it. If you only have a Run Cap you "piggyback" the new "start cap" to the "run cap".
Yes bob start with post 14.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 07:01 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 40
I got mine from CC Dickson, I think I paid around $10.00, my company has an account with them and I pay wholesale.

This was last year, it may have been the SPP6 or SPP5, I phoned Suppco before I purchased and used the one they recommended.
I suggest that you call them to be sure.
If you have an existing start capacitor, you will need to replace it.
Most manufactures of AC units, including the one in your house, do not use start capacitors anymore because of first cost.
I doubt that you RV AC unit has one.

PS: A new AC unit may be a little hard to start until it is broken in. After a few hours (about 72 hours of total run time), the compressor parts loosen up and you may not need this kit.


GeoFish
Geofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 08:44 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
lswartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 617
Thanks much.

Right now it is too cool to even try the AC. If it is OK with you, I might come back with some picture on what I need to do to add one.

The SPP6 ($26.75) has 500 increased torque while the SPP5 ($16.72) has 300 according to the Granger web site.
__________________
2013 Rockwood Mini Lite 2109S
2010 Toyota Tundra 4WD
lswartz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 10:19 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
rmm2435's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: denver
Posts: 11
Where does this get installed, at the battery or the ac unit? Btw these postings are incredibly helpful. Also will running the ac unit on 2000 or2400 watts decrease the effectivness of the unit?
rmm2435 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 10:43 PM   #10
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 19,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmm2435 View Post
Where does this get installed, at the battery or the ac unit? Btw these postings are incredibly helpful. Also will running the ac unit on 2000 or2400 watts decrease the effectivness of the unit?
it's intalled on the a/c. and a 2000w generator will probably not run a 13.5k a/c, even with the hard start cap kit.
you'll need a minimum of 2400w generator and that won't work for some.
if you've got a 15k a/c, you'll need 3000w minimum, generally.
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 03:51 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lake City Florida
Posts: 125
I bought a Champion 3500 watt generator for $299 brand new with electric remote start, removable wheels and handle, has a 30 amp RV outlet, 2 each 115 volt outlets, and 12 volt DC output, the 2 @ 115 outlets can be used at the same time as the 30 amp RV one's is being used. 5 gallon tank, runs like for 12 hours. at 65 decibels. Sure it's a little louder, but at a what 1/5 the cost, with more electrical output, electric remote start. over twice the fuel capacity. To answer the the OP's question, at 3500 watts it can easily power a single A/C and charge batteries.
jamesroadking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 05:58 AM   #12
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,450
The Delay Relay is a wonder indeed.

Very easy mod and will allow air conditioner use in times of high demand at older campgrounds where the ability to serve up amps is limited without killing the supplied voltage.

My 15K air conditioner will draw 28 amps for about 5 seconds during start up and then drop to about 14.5 amps when running. (This is normal for a 15K AC - a 13.5K runs at 12.5 amps I am told.)

Last July, this was a problem at our favorite Gettysburg campground when the voltage at our site would drop too low to turn over the compressor at that amperage. With this mod, the peak start amps drop to 17 volts for 4 seconds for the compressor alone, then drops to 8 amps for the delay, then to about 19 amps when the blower starts, then down to its running amperage of 14.5 amps.

Low voltage and air conditioning
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:49 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
This helps tremendously as well.

air conditioner for generator mod
Turbs,
I think I've figured out that you are delaying the inside blower fan.

I had thought that this mod was delaying the condenser fan in the outside unit. You couldn't do it but for a few seconds, but wouldn't that bring down the amperage a lot more?
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:54 AM   #14
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post

Turbs,
I think I've figured out that you are delaying the inside blower fan.

I had thought that this mod was delaying the condenser fan in the outside unit. You couldn't do it but for a few seconds, but wouldn't that bring down the amperage a lot more?
Yes I am cutting out the interior blower fan.
Compresser starts and gets up and running "about 8 seconds" then the blower fan kicks on.

I'll check amperage tonight as I can now with my ems.

I'll update tonight.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:55 AM   #15
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post

Turbs,


but wouldn't that bring down the amperage a lot more?
Yes it probably would.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 12:10 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
wneise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 266
How about the Dometic Smart Start. I've seen it on marine forums. Looks like it only draws 18 amps on startup. That combined with a fan delay would make for a happy genny.
wneise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 12:24 PM   #17
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,450
Quote:
Originally Posted by wneise View Post
How about the Dometic Smart Start. I've seen it on marine forums. Looks like it only draws 18 amps on startup. That combined with a fan delay would make for a happy genny.
SmartStart Reduces Startup Surge - Dometic



Smartstart Yacht Air Conditioning 32A 115V 60 Hz Dometic 5K 18K Btus | eBay

Seems a bit pricey to me. Much cheaper alternatives, IMO.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 12:30 PM   #18
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,485
Yeah not cheap.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 12:32 PM   #19
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,485
My spp6 fits nicely in the same box as the start cap.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130528_123141.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	31549



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130528_123152.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	46.5 KB
ID:	31550
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 01:06 PM   #20
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,450
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
My spp6 fits nicely in the same box as the start cap.
I did this mod before the delay relay, it did not reduce the start up load near enough for my needs and the demand of the Coleman Mach 3 15K.
__________________

__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 AM.


×