Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-13-2015, 11:17 PM   #1

Interior trim issues

Anyone else having this issue, the wood trim around our push out, which I thought was wood is apparently a composite with a wood grain vinyl over it, we have had one 8" section peal or turn lose. Trying to decide how to repair. I imagine glueing back is the only way. Has anyone had any experience with this.

Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
(2011-42)
Cmmjmoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 06:03 PM   #2

Being a model builder, I have lots of different glues. I use vinyl cement for a few things. Test it on a place where it's not visible, to make sure it's not going to eat the plastic... If it's OK then peel it back if possible and apply the cement. Smooth it out with a paper towel rubbing from the still-attached portion to the edge. Do this in only that direction. If it's in the middle, a small hypodermic needle can be used to put glue under the plastic... in very small doses... Hope that helps.
schrederman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2016, 11:56 AM   #3

Yes we had issues with ours as well. I used some carpenters glue behind the trim then shot some brad nails into the trim to keep it in tact. it has been a problem since day 1. I've learned to accept when you bounce these things down the road they fall apart. It sucks but it is what it is.
JJ77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2016, 12:55 PM   #4