Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-04-2011, 12:22 AM   #1

Problem opening front end tent

Hi all, I am a newbie to this forum. Have had a Surveyor 21T since 2003 and put over 50,000 miles on it!! Believe it or not I only opened the front end tent once and don't recall any problems. Just tried to open it cause someone said things could go moldy if it isn't aired out. (It is perfect, dry and clean) However, the front bar which is supposed to stay open by friction I believe, just wants to collapse, causing the roof to fall. I have done a temporary fix by putting a strap around it and attaching that to my hitch, under the velcro, but of course then there is an imperfect seal. Am I missing something?
Thanks
Toady
toad on the road is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 08:24 AM   #2

Hi Toady,

Is the front bar you're referring to in the shape of a "U" and does it connect to the deck of the front end on hinges? If this is the case then you're incorrect in your understanding that friction holds this bar up. There should also be a "hockey stick" shaped bar that connects to the middle of the "U" shaped bar at the top and to a hook on the ceiling inside the trailer. The short end connects to the ceiling and the long end to the "U" shapred bar. The "hockey stick" shaped bar is 5-6' long. Do you recall a bar like this in your supplies?

There's a great youtube video out there for setting up a hybrid trailer assuming that's what a 21T is.

Paul
2012 (6 nights), 2013 (32 nights), 2014 (26 nights), 2015 (37 nights), 2016 (14 nights)
mTn_biKer65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 10:40 AM   #3
Site Team

your explanation is confusing. do you have pics of what you're talking about. are you talking about the shepherd's pole that supports the length of the tent end or are you talking about the C-hoop at the front of the tent end?