Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2016, 07:24 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Coolharts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Siler City,NC
Posts: 260
Questions About Adding 2nd A/C in Bedroom

On our last trip to the beach our 15K A/C struggled to cool and keep up with the 95 degree weather. Our Surveyor came equipped with the 2nd A/C prep and I think that this will be a fall/winter project. I have access to a tractor that will lift high enough to get the unit on the roof.

After some research I have some questions I can't find the answer for:

1) Should I buy a 15K or 13.5K unit for a second A/C, the price is not much different?

2) I have a ducted system as can be seen in the pics, I can't find much info on how to connect the ducted system, how is the connection between the ducted system and A/C is made.





3) The thermostat wire is in the wall, do I use the standard thermostat or is there an A/C only thermostat?

4) Where is the best place to purchase an A/C and if I do it myself will it affect the warranty?

I try to keep my camper as far away from the dealer as possible, I like it to sit in my driveway and not in their locked up lot.
__________________

__________________
2017 Surveyor 33RETS with Residential Refrigerator and Inverter
2005 Ford Excursion 6.0L 2WD
Nights Camped 2016 27
Nights Camped 2017 24
Coolharts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 07:57 AM   #2
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,205
Since you have the A/C prewire, I assume that you have a 50 amp unit?

1) I'd probably go for the 15k unit, but either should do the job.

2) You'll open up the ends of the ducts and then seal everything except the ducts up so no air can go anywhere except into the ducts.

3) I'd just use the standard thermostat. The furnace function just won't work.

4) Since you are going to wait until the fall/winter, I'd wait until closer to then and keep an eye on sales. There's Amazon of course, even Camping World has some good sales if you watch, PPL motorhomes usually have good prices, Dyers also, but the best thing to do is look at lots of different places to see who has the best price + shipping.

Doing it yourself won't have any effect on the warranty.

I too like doing as much stuff myself, and understand wanting to do it yourself.
__________________

__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 09:11 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Coolharts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Siler City,NC
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
Since you have the A/C prewire, I assume that you have a 50 amp unit?

1) I'd probably go for the 15k unit, but either should do the job.

2) You'll open up the ends of the ducts and then seal everything except the ducts up so no air can go anywhere except into the ducts.

3) I'd just use the standard thermostat. The furnace function just won't work.

4) Since you are going to wait until the fall/winter, I'd wait until closer to then and keep an eye on sales. There's Amazon of course, even Camping World has some good sales if you watch, PPL motorhomes usually have good prices, Dyers also, but the best thing to do is look at lots of different places to see who has the best price + shipping.

Doing it yourself won't have any effect on the warranty.

I too like doing as much stuff myself, and understand wanting to do it yourself.
Thank You! Yes, it is a 50AMP unit. The dealer wanted close to $1000 P/L for a 13,500 BTU Advent unit, since it has a 15,000 BTU Dometic unit in the rear it would make sense to have a 15,000 BTU Dometic in the front so it would be quieter in the living room when watching a movie, just cut the rear off and let the front A/C do the work.

We have a mountain trip this month and in October and beach trips in Sept and November so I don't see needing to add it before winter. Winters in Central NC are mild during the day working outside in the cooler weather is enjoyable.

Has anybody tried the heat strips in these units? We have a fireplace in the living area but was thinking a heat strip in the front unit would keep the chill down when we do get into cold weather and keep propane usage down.
__________________
2017 Surveyor 33RETS with Residential Refrigerator and Inverter
2005 Ford Excursion 6.0L 2WD
Nights Camped 2016 27
Nights Camped 2017 24
Coolharts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 07:50 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 75
From the pictures it looks like mine, I started adding a thermal foil barrier into the ceiling and using injection foam insulation in the ceiling joist. It is a pain but I am able to feel the difference when in full sun.
These things need better insulation for all climates.
__________________
szabla is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 08:05 AM   #5
jsk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 124
I used spray foam to seal cracks and in the corners especially those to the right of the duct work. This helped force more air in to the duct and more air flow to the vent. I did my back AC unit as well. Unless you want the AC units to look the same on top shop around. You may find another brand much cheaper which was my experience. Good luck.


2012 F350 CC SRW 6.7
2012 Sabre 34-REQS-6
__________________
2012 F-350 SRW 6.7
2012 Sabre 34-REQS
jsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 09:08 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
SeaDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 3,303
If I were adding a second AC given the original one did cool your trailer, I would go with the smaller 13K. With Air conditioning bigger is not always better, the units are designed to remove heat and humidity (condition air). If you cool things off to fast the air stays humid and the surrounding can get damp causing other problems. The other thing is the 13K draws less starting and running amps (small consideration)
__________________
Retired Navy
Jake my sidekick (yellow Lab)
2017 RAM 2500 CC 4X4 Cummins Diesel
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 01:15 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 214
The 13.5 should do just fine. You'll only use it mostly for the real "HOT" days anyway. Double check your duct work. Many trailers prep'd for a 2nd Air do NOT match up the exhaust to the existing duct work. If that's the case then you'll be using the Air as a stand alone system. Meaning using the thermostat knob on the unit and exhausting cold air only from the unit itself.

Happy trails,
__________________
billb800si is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 01:28 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
A/C unit

Be sure to ask them to install another wall mounted thermostat unless you are real tall to reach the controls on the AC unit
__________________
gizmojohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 02:09 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,363
I have 38' TT which is 50 amp. The main ac is thermostatically controlled and is a Mach 15 (15,000 btu) unit. The second unit sits above the master suite in the front and is a Mach 3+ (13,500 btu) unit. The second is not ducted nor connected to an external thermostat. It just has knobs on it.

At first I wished it were ducted and controlled by a thermostat, however now that I have used it... I am pleased with it.

These rigs get hot and do not have complex zoning. We pretty much crank both units until we go to bed.

I do wish the manufacturers would install larger ductwork. They seem very restrictive which can cause freezing issues due to airflow through the evaporator. I was looking at Laredos and liked their "race track" design... which I thought was very slick. I question whether there is enough ductwork (sizing) to handle two ac units.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
325BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 02:56 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Wyoming for now
Posts: 24
Question 2nd ac

I was thinking about adding a second unit too. I do not think that I am pre set up for it. Is this still possible? Also, I am 30 amp TT would the addition of a second unit mean I would have to be wired for 50? I have a mach coleman (dometic) 15000 but does not do the job cooling. as a matter of fact it has stopped blowing the little bit that it was and is only 4 months old
__________________

__________________
Drrayrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bed, roo

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.