Old 08-02-2012, 11:41 AM   #1

Slide out and sealing question

Hi all,

I did some searching but I am not sure what this is called.

I was inspecting the slide on my 255RS and noticed that there is a bead of sealant that is on the camper and the slide butts up to. There are some places where the sealant is cracked and broken. I would assume that this is important in keeping water out when the slide is in. What can I use for this?

Also, I am new to this and have been doing a lot of reading but feel a bit overwhelmed sometimes. Seems like every time we go out, a new issues arises This is a '04-05 camper so it has some age on it. I am not really sure what I should be doing in regards to roof and seam maintenance. Are there any good references for newbs?

Old 08-02-2012, 08:40 PM   #2
Moderators' Assistant

pics are much better than descriptions, often.

2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 10:32 PM   #3

I will get some tomorrow. I would think it is similar to weather stripping but it looks like it isdried up.

Thanks
Old 08-02-2012, 10:47 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus

A picture would help us to understand the first part about the sealant between the slide and trailer.

As for roof maintenance, here are some of my thoughts.

Its a requirement that you maintain the roof for warranty purposes. More importantly, this little piece of maintenance will save you lots of money and possible heartache down the road.