Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2014, 10:00 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Tooljunke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kansas City , Missouri
Posts: 28
I left it on for a good 24 hours on electric and it got down to the normal operating range. Fridge & freezer both good and cold . Tried to switch it over to gas but it didn't light. Already bled the lines @ the stove. Does anyone know if it has to drop to a certain temperature before it will kick on ? I managed to get it working on gas last weekend but this is the first time I've tried to switch from one to the other.
__________________

__________________

2004 Dodge Ram 1500
2015 Forest River Surveyor 264 rks
Tooljunke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 10:51 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
schrederman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 977
You'll probably have to leave it turned on to operate on gas and allow the thermostat to work. It should kick in on gas when the temp rises enough to need cooling. I've done this once when we lost power for a day and it ran fine on gas and the battery.
__________________

__________________
J & D in Lovely Weatherford, TX
2016 Jayco White Hawk 28DSBH TT
2014 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 4X4 6.7L Cummins
schrederman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 04:32 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
MOD Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Southeast
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tooljunke View Post
I left it on for a good 24 hours on electric and it got down to the normal operating range. Fridge & freezer both good and cold . Tried to switch it over to gas but it didn't light. Already bled the lines @ the stove. Does anyone know if it has to drop to a certain temperature before it will kick on ? I managed to get it working on gas last weekend but this is the first time I've tried to switch from one to the other.
If you used the button to change it to gas, you are good to go as long as the yellow "Check" light did not come on. Mine almost always changes over with just one click, and I can usually hear it from inside.

The check light will come on if your are out or gas and/or it won't light for some reason. If you are out of gas/ won't light / of do not have shore power, the check light will come on.
If you have no shore power, and no battery power, the light won't work, and neither will the Ref.

When it's set on Auto, it should automatically change over to gas when you disconnect the shore power.
__________________
Chuck Roder & Family
'07 Surveyor SV-235RS & '16 Chevy Silverado 2500HD (Gas) Crew Cab
High Springs, FL.
MOD Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 05:10 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Tooljunke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kansas City , Missouri
Posts: 28
Thanks MOD guy. I'm on my maiden voyage right now. Had rv plugged in at the house for last couple of days . Refrigerator was cold this morning when I unplugged it , but it didn't switch over to gas. Already had gas on & bled. Do I need to hit the gas button also to get it to light ? I had it on "auto" . But by the time I got here (about an hour & half later) the refrigerator was about 20 degrees warmer. Am I doing something wrong ?
__________________

2004 Dodge Ram 1500
2015 Forest River Surveyor 264 rks
Tooljunke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 07:26 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
MOD Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Southeast
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tooljunke View Post
Thanks MOD guy. I'm on my maiden voyage right now. Had rv plugged in at the house for last couple of days . Refrigerator was cold this morning when I unplugged it , but it didn't switch over to gas. Already had gas on & bled. Do I need to hit the gas button also to get it to light ? I had it on "auto" . But by the time I got here (about an hour & half later) the refrigerator was about 20 degrees warmer. Am I doing something wrong ?
Nope, you should not have to manually change it over to gas. When set in the Auto position, it should change over on it's own. If it did not light, then the "Check" light should have come on. You can try switching to gas manually and see if it lights. If if it does not light, the "Check" light should come on. If the "Check" light is not telling you that there is a problem, then that's a problem.

It sounds like you may need to take it to the dealer for a look-see.

I just picked mine up from service today. I had to replace the refrigerator with a new unit, the orig. one (8 years old) developed a leak in the coolant line. It was only $100 more to replace the whole unit vs. repairing it. They had it plunged in and cooling when I picked it up. Unhooked the shore power and it changed itself over to gas with one click.

Good luck with yours, I am sure it is something that can be easily corrected.
__________________
Chuck Roder & Family
'07 Surveyor SV-235RS & '16 Chevy Silverado 2500HD (Gas) Crew Cab
High Springs, FL.
MOD Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 09:15 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Tooljunke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kansas City , Missouri
Posts: 28
Thanks MOD guy. I may have to take it in when I get back.
__________________

2004 Dodge Ram 1500
2015 Forest River Surveyor 264 rks
Tooljunke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2014, 11:19 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Tooljunke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kansas City , Missouri
Posts: 28
Took it back to the dealer for this and a couple of other problems. They couldn't find anything wrong with it. It was "on" and working on "auto" when I picked it up on Saturday. Still couldn't see or hear anything running but it was cold. I looked behind the outside grill after it got dark and could see the flame from the burner. I have it plugged in to electricity now and will switch it over this week after dark to see if it lights up again. Thanks for everone's help.
__________________

2004 Dodge Ram 1500
2015 Forest River Surveyor 264 rks
Tooljunke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 05:16 AM   #18
Buckskin
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 31
Sound on refrig

The only sound you should hear is gas from burner if using propane. These units work by heat and do not have any compressors or fans. I read somewhere they work better with propane as they heat faster but I never turn on propane until just before leaving for trip and use electricity instead at home. Turn on a full night before leaving and refrig should get cold.

They work better if you cool food before putting inside; these units are slower at cooling than house refrig.
__________________
Buckskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 07:25 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 73
I plug mine into 120VAC the night before and then any food added (like Shiner beer, soda's etc) is already cold. I then run it on propane.

Enjoy your Surveyor.
__________________
'15 Columbus 295RL
2015 Ford F350 with 6.7 PSD

2014: camped 12 nights
johndeerefarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2015, 06:32 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1
I'm Marvin I have a 2015 surveyor cadet a 264 really enjoy have had a few little problems just wonder if anybody else have had any problems with the heating in the living room area
__________________

__________________
49ergold1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refrigerator, surveyor

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.