Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2011, 10:25 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 11
TV Antenna

I have a SV291 and the TV no longer gets reception, and hasn't for a couple of years. It didn't before the big digital switch over. It is a late 2004 camper. I do know that the cable works fine. Anyone have any ideas what to do and do I need to change out my antenna now that the digital switch has taken place. Any help suggestions Woolf be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
little joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 12:15 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
if u hook up to cable and turn on the switch on the tv outlet (i'm assuming u have a wineguard). does the cable reception get worse?
when the green(?) light is on on the wineguard box, it should switch to the tv antenna and apply power to it. if nothing is changing, that part could be bad.
mine was intermittent, i finally changed out the antenna and all worked. later i tore into the old antenna and found that the nut on the female f connector wasn't tight. i also found i could have tighten it from the outside.
make sure u have power to that (inside) box. if u have a dc outlet in it, see if u have power to it. (i read that the newer ones don't have a dc socket). check ur fuse panel and make sure the fuses are all good (DC panel).
__________________

__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 06:49 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
Maybe this thread can start you in the right direction: Bad antenna wire
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 08:20 AM   #4
AKA Bluebird
 
dimurrrw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,061
Send a message via Yahoo to dimurrrw
Do you have a converter box hooked up?
__________________
Happy Camping! ///// Richard D.
2006 4x4 Ford 250 SD / 2007 Flagstaff 827 FLS
One very patient wife and one furry child who travels with us. Forty-two years of trailering and camping, and I still have a blast.

dimurrrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 08:53 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 11
No I don't do I need a converter box or a newer tv also do I need to change out my antenna on top
__________________
little joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 10:45 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 241
This is a shot in the dark, could it be that the antenna is good, (Most have very few problems) and the little switch near the TV is on the cable instead of TV. It is a little bitty switch, mine is near the 120-Volt outlet that the TV plugs into. It would be easy to not even see it!
Jack
__________________
2006 Flagstaff 831RLSS Travel Trailer

2007 Chevy 2500HD 'Classic' with the Duramax engine.

Converting a 1956 GMC PD4501 Scenicruiser, ex Greyhound into a motor home.
jackhartjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 02:08 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by little joe View Post
No I don't do I need a converter box or a newer tv also do I need to change out my antenna on top
You current antennae should work fine.
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 04:29 PM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,168
I still have a couple of over the air converter boxes I could be talked into selling.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 07:00 PM   #9
AKA Bluebird
 
dimurrrw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,061
Send a message via Yahoo to dimurrrw
Quote:
Originally Posted by little joe View Post
No I don't do I need a converter box or a newer tv also do I need to change out my antenna on top
The antenna will work fine, assuming it is not damaged, etc. However, you will need a converter box for changing the new digital over-the-air signals into a signal that can be utilized by your older TV.
__________________
Happy Camping! ///// Richard D.
2006 4x4 Ford 250 SD / 2007 Flagstaff 827 FLS
One very patient wife and one furry child who travels with us. Forty-two years of trailering and camping, and I still have a blast.

dimurrrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 11:19 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Hello all. New to RV life here. My TV only buzzes when I plug it in. No picture. Hmm...?
__________________

__________________
Georgette is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.