Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2012, 05:43 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Red face RV park cable issues

Hello fellow rv brothers,
First I would like to wish all of you a very merry Xmas and a happy new year. I recently purchased a forest river rv and took it for a spin to temecula. We park and when I hooked up the cable tv I was not able to program my tv to recieve their channels. I took the cable and connected it to my tv directly through my window. That worked well. This is a brand new rV. Another kiddie I had was the furnace. Every time I turn it on the smoke detector comes on. Any suggestions on how I can fix these problems please share?
__________________

__________________
Alex1526 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 05:58 PM   #2
CampingQueen
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 199
First, welcome to the forum! If you post your exact model of RV it might help get a more specific answer from someone who has your model or close to it.

The cable problem may be that it isn't wired completely or correctly from the factory - I've seen other posts here with folks having that issue. Also, to state the obvious, there is sometimes two connections on the outside of the camper - be sure you are using the one for 'cable' input and not an output jack.

As far as the furnace - it's not uncommon for them to smoke a little bit when you first run the furnace as it burns the oils and 'newness' off from the original manufacture. You'll smell a burning smell at first, but should not happen after the first few cycles of the furnace.

Enjoy your new camper!
__________________

__________________
2012 Flagstaff V-lite 30 WTBS
2011 Ford Expedition
4 kids and a hubby & never enough time to camp!
2011: 17 nights 2012: 26 nights 2013: 46 2014: 20 2015: 16
arlee453 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 06:03 PM   #3
Jack of All Trades
 
RJHuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fletcher, Ohio
Posts: 258
For cable TV the switch on the antenna amplifier faceplate must be off, or popped out, and the LED light must be out.

This switch does double duty, when on do depressed it supplies power to the amplifier in the antenna head, and selects the antenna feed. When off it switches to the cable feed and shuts the power off to the amplifier.
__________________
Rick & Debbie; Brandy & Schnoodle (Dexter & Fritz R.I.P.) the Doxie "Kids"
2015 Jayco Pinnacle 36RSQS 5'er
2013 Chevy Silverado 3500HD LTZ, 6.6L Diesel Dually; B&W Goose Neck and Companion 5'er hitch
RJHuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 06:17 PM   #4
New Member
 
burati1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJHuser View Post
For cable TV the switch on the antenna amplifier faceplate must be off, or popped out, and the LED light must be out.

This switch does double duty, when on do depressed it supplies power to the amplifier in the antenna head, and selects the antenna feed. When off it switches to the cable feed and shuts the power off to the amplifier.
This. I had a similar issue and thought that I was having a stroke as it frustrated me so.
__________________
Coachmen Freedom Express 292BHDS
San Antonio, Texas by way of Nebraska
burati1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 06:41 PM   #5
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 11,732
the dealer should have advised you about your two issues, during your PDI.

as was said, you probably have the antenna booster button on(green light next to black button) and the furnace needs to be run, with windows open, for an hour or tow, to burn off oils from the factory.

and to echo others, you should always post year, make and model of RV you have.
most of us have it listed in our signature line.
__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing an '07 Chevy Avalanche
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 09:45 PM   #6
Site Team
 
Terier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex1526 View Post
Hello fellow rv brothers,
First I would like to wish all of you a very merry Xmas and a happy new year. I recently purchased a forest river rv and took it for a spin to temecula. We park and when I hooked up the cable tv I was not able to program my tv to recieve their channels. I took the cable and connected it to my tv directly through my window. That worked well. This is a brand new rV. Another kiddie I had was the furnace. Every time I turn it on the smoke detector comes on. Any suggestions on how I can fix these problems please share?
Hi and welcome to the board! May I ask what campground you are staying at in Temecula? I'm looking for a new place for an upcoming trip.

__________________
Great choice for "Living within my means" and camping for one...

2011 Salem Cruise Lite 20RBXL & 2011 Toyota Tundra Dbl Cab
Camping History: 45 Trips / 133 Nights / 3736 Miles
FRF Social Group: Campers of the West
Terier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 08:33 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terier View Post

Hi and welcome to the board! May I ask what campground you are staying at in Temecula? I'm looking for a new place for an upcoming trip.

Hello terrier,
Hope you had a merry Xmas. I stayed in the Pechanga casino rV park. You can see it online. We had a great time. They have a park near by for kids and a great shuttle service from your coach to the front door of the casino. All you do is call and within 5 min. A shuttle is at you rv spot. Have fun!
__________________
Alex1526 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 08:39 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex1526 View Post
Hello fellow rv brothers,
First I would like to wish all of you a very merry Xmas and a happy new year. I recently purchased a forest river rv and took it for a spin to temecula. We park and when I hooked up the cable tv I was not able to program my tv to recieve their channels. I took the cable and connected it to my tv directly through my window. That worked well. This is a brand new rV. Another kiddie I had was the furnace. Every time I turn it on the smoke detector comes on. Any suggestions on how I can fix these problems please share?
My rV is a ForestRiver 2013 on a ford 2012 chassis. Floor plan 2691s. Thank you for all the great ideas. Happy new year
__________________
Alex1526 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 09:50 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Just wanted to thank everyone for your helpful suggestions. I was able solve both issues. Happy new year2013. Safe travels to all.
__________________
Alex1526 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:11 PM   #10
Anacortesians
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA
Posts: 1,167
There's a major problem out there with CG TV cable systems, specifically if their cable company is Comcast. We have Comcast at home and have gone through this J. Michael Mouse scenario.

Not long after over-the-air signals went digital, so did Comcast. They chose, for obvious commercial reasons, not to configure their digital signal so that all the newly purchased digital TV sets would work seamlessly, but to choose a completely different digitisation method, not compatible with any digital TV receivers. That meant that everyone had to rent their converter boxes, one for each TV set in the house. These converters put out an analog signal on the old Channel 3 frequency. Since we've not bothered to update to wide-screen and still have the 4:3 CRT TVs, it's not a big deal. Comcast makes the viewer leave the TV on Ch.3 and then uses its proprietary converter to do the channel switching. Their remotes are also programmable to the type of TV you have and they control channel selection, volume and mute functions. You have to use the remote that came with your TV to change brightness, color balance, contrast, etc.

What this means for the CG owners is that they need a Comcast converter box for every site. I don't know if the Comcast box can be outside the RV, since it is range limited, but at least the camper would need a Comcast remote. The camper would also need to program the Comcast remote to his individual TV set model. The nightmarte for the CG owner would be in making sure the departing guest returns the remote (and maybe even the converter box) to the CG office when they leave.

Welcome to the commercial digital world!! We ran into this issue at a very up-market CG in SW Washington a few months ago. Management were beside themselves, apologising for the lack of cable service. Apparently, Comcast had just hit them with the change to the system in their area without properly explaining it.

Unfortunately, these various cable TV companies have local monopolies, and the only other alternatives are basic over-the-air, or one of the satellite-based outfits.
__________________

__________________
Frank and Eileen
No longer RVers or FR owners
F and E Damp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.