Old 12-06-2018, 02:19 PM   #1

Toad dolly hitch drop issue

Im new to motorhome driving. Traded in my 5er. I opted to buy a used dolly trailer to pull my toad. The manuel says not to use a hitch that exceeds a 4 drop. When I hitch up the trailer to the 4 drop hitch it is not level. Also the trailers tire ramps at the back are only 3 off the pavement. Is this normal? I should mention the trailer is used and is s landgrebe a frame td40. Harvey duty with caster steering. Should I tow like this or is there a fix?

popeye305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 03:17 PM   #2

I have a Landgrebe dolly also. I can't say for sure it's not there but I don't remember anything in my manual about not exceeding a 4 in drop. I think the main thing to keep in mind is that it will tow best if the frame is level. I know from experience the dolly will sway and bounce erratically if it is towed with frame in an upward position, ie the hitch is too high.

Even when level, I think my ramps are at the most 4 inches above the payment.

2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 Duramax Crewcab
Jeep Commander - sold
Flagstaff V-Lite WRB26
kz08h5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 04:04 PM   #3

Toad dolly hitch drop issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by kz08h5 View Post
I have a Landgrebe dolly also. I can't say for sure it's not there but I don't remember anything in my manual about not exceeding a 4 in drop. I think the main thing to keep in mind is that it will tow best if the frame is level. I know from experience the dolly will sway and bounce erratically if it is towed with frame in an upward position, ie the hitch is too high.

Even when level, I think my ramps are at the most 4 inches above the payment.