Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-20-2014, 08:48 PM   #1

Using W&P in freezing weather - water?

I'm new to trailers with living quarters and am not too sure about whether it's safe to fill my 2010 24' W&P water tanks and use sink, shower, etc in freezing weather. It looks like there are some water pipes below the floor, and the holding tanks are on the exterior.. . so it's not possible to use the water system in these trailers when the weather is below freezing??

I've read some writeups with tips for general RV use in freezing weather and it sounds like the norm is just to take bottled water for drinking, brushing teeth, flushing, etc. and add RV anti-freeze to the holding tanks.
karthauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 01:33 AM   #2

It depends how far below freezing and for how long.....If worried you can follow the information in the writeups, but, I have spent several days in mine in the low 20's and highs in upper 30's and I used water from the fresh tank and took nomral showers. I did not use city water because hose would freeze.. My tanks are not insulated. Keep inside of trailer heated...I did not have any problems.
1l243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 02:08 AM   #3

Let me just add I am assuming you want to use your trailer in freezing weather and not put it in storage. If putting in storage you will want to winterize. That said your W&P should be plumbed with Pex tubing. Pex can freeze and defrost with no breakage. So any exposed pipes outside of the heated areas of the trailer should be fine. They might freeze up where you would have no water. You can carry gallon containers of water for those conditions. Because of the Volume in a fresh water tank mine 90 gallons it would take a long time for that to freeze.

Check out the interesting Pex freeze test video..
1l243 is offline   Reply With Quote