Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-26-2012, 08:38 AM   #1

W&P 25ULA Fridge

Just picked up my first W&P a couple weeks ago... I absolutely LOVE IT!! I have one question though... is there a trick to getting the fridge to work on propane? Went camping on the weekend to a place that didn't have hookups. When the camper was plugged into the generator, the fridge & freezer worked fine and were both cold....however, when the generator wasn't on - the fridge would get warm... I checked multiple times to make sure it was ON, that it was set to AUTO and that the "check" light wasn't on. The propane tanks were full and the stove worked fine, so I know the propane is flowing....
Any ideas??? This is also my first RV - so I'm a newbie and I'm learning all the RV'ing ins & outs
amarceau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:46 AM   #2

I also battle my fridge in my 25ula..... Here is what I do now (kind of a process) but I now manage to get it to fire pretty quick !
If at all possible do this the night before, or at least a few hours.
Turn on propane , then go inside to the stove.
Open the front burner wait about 3 seconds and try to light. After it lights, watch the flame until it burns smooth.(this is the air purging from the line)
Then light the other 2 burners, and wait about 2 minutes (keep a window or door open for some ventilation)
You can try the fridge now, but there is still air trapped between the fridge and the main line, it should light but it will take a few times trying on its own.
I found that if you wait overnight more air seems to seep out of the fridge and propane pushes its way closer.
I am no expert.....this is what I do, and I no longer battled the fridge. It has worked pretty consistently for me.........GOOD LUCK !!!
Foneguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 12:00 PM   #3