Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-06-2011, 10:34 AM   #1

01 Forest River fridge problem

Hello everyone. I am brand new to campers and we just purchased a 19ft used one. I took it out for the first time last night and we were hooked up to a 30 amp service. Everything worked great but the fridge would not get cold at all. I had the power on and tried it in auto and not in auto. When I turned it on either way I would hear a faint clicking sound then the check light would come on. Can anybody steer me in the right direction to go with this. Thank you in advance.
chadweasel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 10:39 AM   #2

You don't say how long you had it on, but it does take quite awhile to get these refrigerators cold. The clicking you heard was when it tried to light the LP gas. If you were on electric that should not be a problem. A couple of things my wife and I always do is put things in the fridge that are already cold. Also, the freezer will get cold first so check it after a few hours and leave the bottom closed as much as possible. Good luck and welcome to the forum!
cbenslay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 10:40 AM   #3
Lottery Non-Winner

The clicking sound was the refrigerator's attempt to operate from LP. This means it was not on electricity for whatever reason because you stated that you put it on auto. While in auto, with electricity applied, it should not have tried to run from LP. An investigation is warranted.

2011 Georgetown 337
2009 HD FLHTCU
2007 HD FXSTC
Ovair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 10:44 AM   #4

If you are able to attach a picture of the fridge buttons you are pushing it may help in solving your problem.
Old 08-06-2011, 10:44 AM   #5