Old 05-11-2016, 12:39 PM   #1
2015 Toyota Highlander versus 2017 Roo 21dk

Very interested in buying a Roo 21dk, but am concerned about towing with a 15' Toyota Highlander V6 (with the tow package).

The weight ratings appear good.

Any and all thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

wmutkelaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 04:53 PM   #2
I'm not an expert, but with a trailer weight of about 5000lbs and a tongue weight of close to 600lbs, doesn't that exceed the limits of your highlander? If your highlander has a max towing of 5000lbs and a max hitch weight of 500lbs, that doesn't leave any room for passengers, gear or gas in the tow vehicle.

ROCAMPER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 06:35 PM   #3
Check the payload rating on the sticker on the door. Deduct 700 lbs. That is the approximate tongue weight of a loaded for camping 21dk. The remainder is what you have left for passengers and gear in your Highlander. Let us know how much is left. My guess is you're already overweight.
Limited payload is the problem with most suvs.
jking46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 07:48 PM   #4
Moderators' Assistant
If your Highlander has the 500lbs tongue weight and 5000lbs towing capacity, the 21dk's hitch weight already exceeds the Highlander 's max, before you put anything in the trailer.
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
'07 Roo 23SS pushing an '07 Chevy Avalanche
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 08:11 PM   #5
Which Roo would you recommend for a tow equipped highlander?
Old 05-11-2016, 09:27 PM   #6
Site Team