Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2015, 03:06 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
karrun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Chicago Western Burbs
Posts: 462
50 Amp surge protector for new Roo

Forgive me if this question has already been answered, but we are anxiously awaiting the delivery of our new 21ss and I already asked the dealer but have not received an answer yet, so I thought I'd ask you knowledgeable folks.
From reading here, I gather that a Progressive Industries electrical management system is the preferred way to protect our valuable electronics. I am wondering if it would make sense to pay a little bit extra and get the 50 AMP portable model vs the 30 AMP model, since we may upgrade to a larger unit sometime. Can you safely use a 50 AMP protector for a 30 Amp unit? And if 50 AMP service is not available at the site, can you use a 50 amp to 30 AMP converter (on both ends I guess) to plug into 30 AMP service?
Thanks much!
__________________

__________________
karrun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 03:12 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Yes, buy the 50 amp it can be used in a 30 amp camper.
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 03:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
rattleNsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Western Connecticut
Posts: 1,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
Yes, buy the 50 amp it can be used in a 30 amp camper.
Ayup...What he said.
__________________
2010 Cedar Creek 5th Wheel 34SATS "The Beast"
2006 Ford F350 Lariat 6.0L Diesel
2003 Harley Heritage Softail "Hogzilla"
1986 Marriage to "Wifey" (patience of a saint)
rattleNsmoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 03:53 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
geotex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 730
I'll throw in the x3 just so you are assured! Buy from TechnoRV for the best price delivered right now! Phil is a good guy!
__________________
geotex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 04:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
rattleNsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Western Connecticut
Posts: 1,571
They have great pricing! Makarios RV WAS selling them for $293 PLUS shipping but they hiked the price to $304 & change. Good find...
__________________
2010 Cedar Creek 5th Wheel 34SATS "The Beast"
2006 Ford F350 Lariat 6.0L Diesel
2003 Harley Heritage Softail "Hogzilla"
1986 Marriage to "Wifey" (patience of a saint)
rattleNsmoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 04:19 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
karrun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Chicago Western Burbs
Posts: 462
Hey, thanks for the advice. TechnoRV is now $310, but says they will price match, so I'll buy from them since you guys recommend them.
__________________
karrun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 10:02 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 155
EMS remote display or not?

Is it worth the extra cost to get a remote display on the Progressive EMS? Looks to be about $35 for the convenience but do you use it or just rely on the box to do its job?
__________________
2015 Roo 23IKSS
2016 F150 SuperCrew 3.5 EcoBoost
Kanga99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 10:16 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
rattleNsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Western Connecticut
Posts: 1,571
I use it regularly. I mounted it high enough so it's not a chore to see it. At a glance it's a great tool for seeing how many volts you have and amps that are being drawn on line 1 and line 2. Different appliances in the RV are on different lines so if you are about to exceed the amp draw on a particular line you can plug that appliance into some other outlet.
__________________
2010 Cedar Creek 5th Wheel 34SATS "The Beast"
2006 Ford F350 Lariat 6.0L Diesel
2003 Harley Heritage Softail "Hogzilla"
1986 Marriage to "Wifey" (patience of a saint)
rattleNsmoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 10:17 AM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Yes it's worth it!
If you have an error you can see what the error is.
Can also watch voltage as well as amps.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 10:25 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kanga99 View Post
Is it worth the extra cost to get a remote display on the Progressive EMS? Looks to be about $35 for the convenience but do you use it or just rely on the box to do its job?
Couldn't live without the display. You will find it invaluable to manage your amps especially when plugged into 20 amp service. The big amp suckers are A/C, water heater and space heater. You might want to add an extra outlet on a separate 15 amp breaker like I did. That way you make coffee and toast at the same time.
__________________

__________________
Les & Heidi Kramer
2010 GMC Sierra SLE & 2014 Shamrock 23IKSS
Cleveland, OH
cpd1343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp, roo

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 AM.