Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2014, 06:28 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 21
Battery Shut off switch

2005 Shamrock 23SS no power from battery off shore power. Battery 100% so there has to be a shutoff somewhere. If it was factory, the shutoff where would it be?

scottjstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 06:42 PM   #2
Moderators' Assistant
bikendan's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 10,182
older Roo/Shamrock hybrids never had a factory cutoff switch.
only since the past couple of years.

did you remove and replace the battery?
if so, you may have reversed the wires which will trip a resettable breaker that's tucked in along the A-frame.
it's gray or silver and has a tiny black button on it. just press it to reset the breaker.

Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
'07 Roo 23SS pushing an '07 Chevy Avalanche
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 07:10 PM   #3
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 21
Thanks I'll look but here is what's going on. Shore power all good checked volts with battery unhooked and got 13.44v and battery is fully charged. As soon as shore power unhooked I have nothing no power at all from battery. New battery installed when I picked up from dealer last month and it's hooked up right the ground goes right to the frame under the battery I checked that. Called dealer today and they told me to check shutoff switch which I looked and didn't see any that's why I asked you guys.
scottjstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 10:43 PM   #4
Senior Member
CDNWhiskey's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 130
Since the new battery was installed have you ever had battery power? Almost sounds like an inline fuse has gone.
CDNWhiskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 06:20 AM   #5
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 21
Can't really say. 1st trip out always used shore power at home, I know I know during PDI I should have checked it but I didn't they said new battery which it was so I assumed worked fine. I can take it back to dealer but it's 4 hrs away
scottjstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 07:18 AM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
TURBS's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,205
Look for one of these near the battery.
See the little black button? Reset it.
I switched mine to auto resets.
This may be your problem.


"Sabre owners united"
Attached Images
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 04:31 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
Triguy's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 6,951
Battery Shut off switch

Ditto on the resettable breaker - found on positive line about halfway between battery and converter.

Its possible the previous owner added a battery cutoff switch. That's usually placed near the battery when its an aftermarket addition and could be on either the positive or negative lines leading from the battery.

If those first two items don't work for you, than check your converter's front panel (is your's a WFCO 8900-series?). There is a reverse polarity fuse and maybe someone hooked it up wrong and then fixed the battery but didn't check the fuse. See if its blown.

If not any of those things, then the output from the converter can be checked. Let us know if you need to go that far.
DW, 3 Kids and our Goldens

2012 Shamrock 233S
2008 Toyota Sequoia 5.7L 4WD
Triguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 06:58 PM   #8
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 21
Output from converter is 13.44v I unhooked battery and on shore power there is volts going to battery. Had to be a break somewhere between battery and converter. I'll check when I get home tomorrow
scottjstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 07:00 PM   #9
Senior Member
markb5900's Avatar
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 327
Check your fuses.
Bet you have a blown one.
Mark B
2015 32 Foot Rockwood 8289WS 5th Wheel
2013 Chevy 3/4 Ton TV
markb5900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 04:07 PM   #10
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 21
Bingo F1100 fuseable link under camper was bad. Thanks Guys!!

scottjstrong is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.