Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2014, 01:36 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 11
Unhappy Blown fuse?

Have a 2011 Roo 21SS.
Had the A/C, fridge running on electric.
Was blow drying my hair in the bathroom (seems to have been a mistake!)
I blew something. None of the outlets work now.

Looking for a little guidance . . .
- I know where my fuses are, but not sure how to open the panel. Can anyone guide me on that?

- Right now the GFI outlet doesn't seem to want to reset. I wonder if I blew that?!?! That is, I can't get a green or red light on it when I plug the camper into an outside power source. Anyone have any ideas?

- I am wondering if I blew a fuse then the GFI outlet won't have power anyway?

Any input/suggestions would be helpful as the pile of manuals I have is somewhat useless.

Thanks!
Looking forward to hearing back.
~ Kathy
__________________

__________________
KFenlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 01:51 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Flagstaffer06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 246
Kathy,

I'm not sure what type of fuse panel you have to help you on opening it up. The majority of the panels just have a door that flips down. I'm assuming you are only getting 12volt power?

If so, did you check the power that is feeding the ROO? For example, if you are at a campground, the pedestal that the ROO is hooked up to will have a breaker. If that tripped, you won't get power to the ROO. You mentioned no outlets work which is 110volt where as the majority of the lights are 12volt lights and if those still work, it's because it's on battery.

I'd check the power feeding the campground and then of course the box inside the ROO too, which without knowing which one you have since I don't own a ROO, i'm not sure.

Either way, you will most likely have to reset the GFI once you get power back.
__________________

__________________
2012 Keystone Sprinter
Still sticking around for the good people and advice.
Flagstaffer06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 02:36 PM   #3
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 13,289
first, yes you overloaded your 30amp AC system. WAY too many things running.

second, fuses are for the 12v DC side, breakers are for the 110v AC side.
so, shouldn't be any fuse issues.

you need to check the breakers in your power panel, where the converter.
usually has a brown drop-down access door where you'll find the AC breakers and the DC fuses.

you may have to replace the GFI outlet.
also, if you have the shore cored plugged into a GFI outlet, that's usually not good. you should have the shore cord plugged into a non-GFI outlet.

are you plugged into a campground pedestal or at home?
__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 02:45 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Arefbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 875
The GFCI will not reset unless it has power so the issue is "upstream", closer to the source of power. Your are right to look a the panel next.

You may need to push the door on the power panel in for it to pop open.

If all the breakers look OK, a trip to outside connection is a good idea.

Not sure where you are but out here we are heading for blackouts due to heat and storms so make certain the campground has power.
__________________
2011 PrimeTime Tracer 2600rls
2001 GMC Yukon XL 2500, 6.0L 4.10:1 axle ratio
Nights camping 2014 - 17
2013 - 15
Arefbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 02:51 PM   #5
Jack of All Trades
 
4x4dually's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Stillwater, OK
Posts: 81
Having an extensive electrical background...always start at the campsite power source. The one we used last weekend was wired incorrectly....meaning, when I plugged an electric skillet into the outlet on the pedestal, it tripped the main power breakers feeding the trailer instead of the 20A GCFI it was supposed to be connected to.

Get one of these and put in your trailer. You simply push the button and stick the end in a recept or on top of any cord. If it has power, it will tweet and light up. Very useful tool. This one only works for AC power as it is inductive. It will not work for DC power.

I've had this one since 1992. It is obsolete, but newer versions are out there. It is called a "voltage tick" or "voltage detector". Greenlee makes this particular one. Lowes/HomeDepot/etc will have them.

__________________
4x4dually is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 03:08 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Arefbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 875
By the way - is the AC still going? It it is, the issue is in the panel.
If the AC is off, the issue is at the pole.
__________________
2011 PrimeTime Tracer 2600rls
2001 GMC Yukon XL 2500, 6.0L 4.10:1 axle ratio
Nights camping 2014 - 17
2013 - 15
Arefbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 03:26 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,628
You probably just tripped the breaker in your unit. All that suff you are talking about is probably on the same 20 amp breaker. You hair drier just put you over and tripped your breaker. If my wife dries her hair I have to turn things off for awhile. I have 9 110v outlets count them on 1- 20 amp breaker. I had to go through the process to know what was on what breaker. All my main plugs even outside plus my refer and tv are all on 1 20 amp breaker. It's hard to believe but it is true.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 03:33 PM   #8
Jack of All Trades
 
4x4dually's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Stillwater, OK
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
It's hard to believe but it is true.
I believe it. It is unreal. The chincy way stuff is done on ANY trailer just floors me. Anything I touch, gets rewired normally.

I tried to get a wiring diagram of my new trailer. They sent me a floor plan with "x's" on where all the plugs were.

Ummm....no...that is NOT a wiring diagram.
__________________
4x4dually is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 05:28 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Arefbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 875
Any luck Kathy?
__________________
2011 PrimeTime Tracer 2600rls
2001 GMC Yukon XL 2500, 6.0L 4.10:1 axle ratio
Nights camping 2014 - 17
2013 - 15
Arefbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 05:34 PM   #10
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
To answer your first question, try pressing the upper side of the electrical panel door, mine has a press to release latch. Then reset all the breakers and then check the breaker on the pole.
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuse

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.