Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-26-2011, 10:56 AM   #1

Brochure Dry Weight vs Sticker

Ok I'm still a complete Noob, but I'm trying to learn as much as possible. So I've tried reading the posts about Dry Weight vs UVW vs Brochure listed weights and now i'm more confused than when i started .

Can someone listen to my logic and tell me if i'm correct or clueless.

Dry Weight = Weight of a configured/built trailer including options, but without water, battery, and not loaded with belongings

UVW = Another term for Dry Weight (same as above)

Brochure Dry Weight = fictional base non-configured trailer weight with no option weights, water, battery, or other included cargo weights.

The model I've ordered is the Roo 19. Brochure says Dry Ship Weight = 3383 lbs, but i found an optioned one like the one i ordered with a yellow sticker weight of 3617 lbs. So that is only 234 lbs for the weight of options this trailer is configured with. That seems low for the options.

So my question is does the 3617 lb number inlcude the weight of the Convenience Pkg Options, Aluminum Rims, Power Tongue Jack, Spare Tire/Carrier, Gas Oven, and Dual Empty Propane Tanks that this TT is configured to have? (I also figure that this sticker weight does not include the battery + 40 lbs).

Also, does the factory actually weigh each trailer after it is built to get this DW sticker rating or do they just do rough math?

One more thing. Do you guys travel with a full load of water? 36/30/30 gal tanks full? The sticker says the total cargo weight should not exceed 984 lbs and a full load of water is 308 lbs. According to my calculations a full load of 36/30/30 gal of water is way over 308 lbs. More like 800 lbs. I'm not sure if you are just supposed to travel with Fresh Water full.
RoadDog66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 11:52 AM   #2