Old 04-26-2013, 05:31 PM   #1

Question Considering a change

I bought a Flagstaff T12RB (hard-side popup) last September and I quickly learned on the one and only time we camped in it that it very very small even for two adults. So I am at the dealership in Bath NY looking at one of the Shamrock models, however my 2010 Subaru Forester only has a towing capacity of 2400 lbs. Needless to say I was disappointed to learn that my vehicle had such limitations and that I would not be able to purchase a larger unit.
Can anyone suggest a good towing vehicle that does not have to stop at ever fueling station? Thinking about a Chevy Suburban, but I haven't researched them yet, maybe a club cab? We are middle age couple that love our dog who comes along with us where ever we go. Something else worth mentioning is I am a full time student that commutes 80 miles to class and back so millage is a huge consideration.

"The only journey is the one within."
— Rainer Maria Rilke
beyond-there is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 06:45 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

What size hybrid are you considering? The smallest Shamrock 17 hybrid is going to need something in the 4,000lb plus range. Then they go up from there in size with slideouts and 3 bunks being the largest.

Do you know which one you want?

Suburbans are fairly large for two people and a dog IMHO. Are you looking just at an SUV or would a pickup work? Personally, if it were just me and my DW and our golden, I would probably buy one of the new Ford Ecoboost pickups.

2012 Shamrock 233S
2008 Toyota Sequoia 5.7L 4WD
Triguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 07:21 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Triguy View Post
What size hybrid are you considering? The smallest Shamrock 17 hybrid is going to need something in the 4,000lb plus range. Then they go up from there in size with slideouts and 3 bunks being the largest.

Do you know which one you want?