Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-14-2016, 11:44 AM   #21

Coupler hard to release

I had the same problem with my 2014 Surveyor Select 264 I purchased in 2014. Never a problem to attach but to unhook - Wow! I had it back to the dealer twice and on the third trip, they removed the ball I had been using to pull several other previous campers and found an old ball to put on. It worked perfectly. My guess is that it was a smaller sized ball.
Rmstack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2016, 12:19 PM   #22

I may be going against the grain on some of the suggestions, but I have been using this hitch for 10 years. Those of you who disagree should give this a try.

When hitching to the TV: TT wheels chocked front and rear. locate the ball of the TV under the cup, but slightly forward of the cup. The front curve of the ball should just touch the front of the TT cup. With the latch lever fully out, crank the TT jack down. The front of the TT cup will pull the TT slightly forward as is travels past the widest front part of the ball and then pulls back because the TT wheels are chocked. The TT hitch cup will be up against the front of the ball. The latch lever should seat into the locked position. You may have to tap it to make it seat. If it does not, make sure the latch locking around the rear of the ball has not bound up on the ball. It should not if the cup seated onto the ball. With the TT wheels still chocked, pull forward ever so slightly and the latch will seat. This only takes about a half inch movement forward. Remove the chocks and go.