Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2015, 02:13 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 92
Dead AC?

Been keeping our 23IKSS at a campground for month of July. Each Sunday, we'd shut off water and set AC to 80f.

Came back last night and camper felt warm, rooftop unit was running. I lowered thermostat temp setting, but even after an hour temp in coach did not drop. Air from vents felt slightly cool.

Checked breaker and fuses, all good.

Noticed no little blue led on shoreline power plug door, but LED at other end of cable glowed. Surge protector showed no issues. Plugged into 50amp circuit with adapter, also tried 20amp. No go.

Brought camper home today and plugged in with a normal extension cord and adapter. Still no blue LED on door, and AC still not blowing cold.

Sliding thermostat switch to AC position, then off, and then immediately back on results in silence, which I assume is fast cycle preventer, but wouldn't that suggest the compressor wants to kick on, which would suggest proper system pressure?

Is there a reset switch somewhere? Manuals didn't mention any.

Thanks in advance.

Todd
__________________

__________________
Toddavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 08:10 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 210
I don't think your air will turn on being plugged into a regular outlet and using an extension cord. You need a 30 amp outlet. There are many threads about this. Just scroll down a bit and search.
__________________

__________________
syogerst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 10:53 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
deartruc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Southern New England
Posts: 818
I used to have mine freeze up when outside was very hot and humid. I would have to shut the AC off for 10 to 15 minutes to melt the ice off the condenser. You'd notice this by reduced air movement and no water dripping from any of the gutters. PS I've already lost the light on the door and the power cord of my 2015.
__________________
2008 Dodge Durango
2015 Roo 23 ikss
deartruc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 03:07 PM   #4
cogito ergo moo
 
Cowracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Imperial (St. Louis) MO
Posts: 2,326
My a/c unit has run just fine on a 20 amp plug and 10guage extension cord many times.

Of course, running the microwave or coffee pot at the same time is out of the question...

Tim
__________________
FROG Member MO-0008-571 Since 20124444444444My Project Blog: https://cowracer.blogspot.com/
2016
Rockwood Signature Ultralite 8329ss44444444"And Cowracer is right..." - Bikendan
Rallies Attended:
Cowracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 04:33 PM   #5
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by syogerst View Post
I don't think your air will turn on being plugged into a regular outlet and using an extension cord. You need a 30 amp outlet. There are many threads about this. Just scroll down a bit and search.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowracer View Post
My a/c unit has run just fine on a 20 amp plug and 10guage extension cord many times.

Of course, running the microwave or coffee pot at the same time is out of the question...

Tim

Same as cowracer/Tim- I've regularly ran my 15k BTU by itself on a 15amp plug in off of my garage. Now, I did buy a special heavy duty extension cord for it- but it worked even after installing my EMS.
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 06:23 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 92
Yes, I previously have run the AC on a 15 amp circuit without issue. Low load like this time.

I at first assumed the unit froze up, but the ride home from the campsite was over an hour in 90f heat, so any ice should have been long gone by then.

So the dead blue LED is a red herring, good to know.

I'll call the local dealer when they open tomorrow to schedule a warranty visit...
__________________
Toddavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 05:36 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
deartruc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Southern New England
Posts: 818
I can't run it on my 15amp circuit. And it's the only load on it. I used to on my last HTT but that was without the EMS. The emshw30 shows the voltage dropped too far. Now for those lights. It's a minor thing that they don't work on the door or the in-Furiion cable. The ems tells me the story when I plug in.
__________________
2008 Dodge Durango
2015 Roo 23 ikss
deartruc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 05:46 PM   #8
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by deartruc View Post
I used to have mine freeze up when outside was very hot and humid. I would have to shut the AC off for 10 to 15 minutes to melt the ice off the condenser. You'd notice this by reduced air movement and no water dripping from any of the gutters. PS I've already lost the light on the door and the power cord of my 2015.
I had this happen on our last trip very hot and humid. I opened the flash cool vent to allow maximum air circulation and left it open until the TT cooled down. No more freeze up issues.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 07:16 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 92
It definitely was not freeze up. I left the AC off all night and it still did not work in the morning, and did not work after the towing home for over and hour in 90f heat.

Anyway, made the call this morning to my local dealer. A dealer where I did not purchase the unit. I didn't purchase the unit there, because honestly, I scoured online ads when researching, and never came across them.

The guy in service was friendly and candidly told me that Forest River may force me to return to my purchasing dealer since it has been less than 90 days. He asked me to submit all my info via email so he could forward to Forest River for permission to conduct the warranty work, which I did.

Should I find out I need to bring the camper back to the original dealer, 3 hours away, I, too, will lose my cool.
__________________
Toddavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 08:04 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
HONDAMAN174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Big brown desert
Posts: 2,319
Have you installed a hard start capacitor on your unit? I had mine blow up due to excessive heat and once I replaced it all was well.
__________________

__________________
2014 Stealth Evo 2850- "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra Rock Crawler TRD 5.7- "Clifford"
2013 Honda Accord Coupe V6 w/Track Pack- "Julia"

Just glad to get away
HONDAMAN174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.