Old 03-30-2015, 03:14 PM   #1

Do I need to sanitize the water?

Help me out here: How important is it to sanitize the water, after winterizing with antifreeze, given that I don't plan to drink from the water lines? And, I don't plan to fill up the holding tank at all.

I read that great checklist that is in this forum, and I also noted to dewinterize at home vs. the campground site.

But, what's wrong with driving to camp site, hooking up city water source, running the faucets until the pink comes out, and then going from there?

I'm a rookie, so don't be too hard on me.

Thanks,

Old 03-30-2015, 03:23 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Even after sanitizing, we don't drink the water from the trailer. (My wife doesn't even brush her teeth with it but I do.)

Yes, you can dewinterize at the campsite and may even be able to sanitize but make sure, first, that it's okay to drain the fresh water tank onto the ground. (Or just bring a 5-gallon pail from Home Depot and catch the water then dump it into the toilet!)

Hey that's a good idea....we're going out in 2 weeks and I don't have time to sanitize before heading out so will do that at the State Park we're going to. (And will, probably, have to winterize afterwards...we've seen it down down to the teens in April in Colorado.)

6-year Travel Trailer RVers
2013 Forest River Rockwood Ultra-Lite 2904SS
2014 Toyota Tundra Maxcrew SR-5 TRD 4x4 (with Firestone airbags in the rear)
ColoradoRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 03:24 PM   #3

There is nothing wrong in doing that, just make sure you also flush the water tank out too. You say you aren't going to drink from water supply, how about cooking, brushing your teeth, watering the dog/cat? Just thinking.... I have yet to sanitize my system (third year) but I do a GOOD flush of all lines and tanks before using after winter (will be sanitizing this year though).
wana65stang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 03:38 PM   #4