Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2012, 03:43 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Freezer running on Gas

Does anyone have issues with their freezer while running on gas for extended periods?? The freezer in our Roo 233s doesn't seem to keep frozen stuff... frozen. After a 3 day trip the bread was soft some meat was soft etc...

It seems to work fine when plugged into power....
__________________

__________________
200smk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 03:51 PM   #2
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by 200smk View Post
Does anyone have issues with their freezer while running on gas for extended periods?? The freezer in our Roo 233s doesn't seem to keep frozen stuff... frozen. After a 3 day trip the bread was soft some meat was soft etc...

It seems to work fine when plugged into power....
Are you sure the propane portion is working? Should work better on propane.
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 03:54 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by 200smk
Does anyone have issues with their freezer while running on gas for extended periods?? The freezer in our Roo 233s doesn't seem to keep frozen stuff... frozen. After a 3 day trip the bread was soft some meat was soft etc...

It seems to work fine when plugged into power....
Mine seems to work better on gas
B.o.n
Is your temp probe placed near the top of fins?

And not just the plastic slider either some times the probe slides down into plastic slider.

I took mine out and put it towards top of slider than re installed.
Ron
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 03:54 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Yep....propane works and is flowing fine. The fridge seems to work great on propane, kept the beer cold for that whole trip. Just seems like the freezer can't keep up for that length of time.
__________________
200smk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 04:00 PM   #5
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by 200smk View Post
Yep....propane works and is flowing fine. The fridge seems to work great on propane, kept the beer cold for that whole trip. Just seems like the freezer can't keep up for that length of time.
f1100turbo is correct, make sure the sensor is at the slide to the top of the fins.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 04:02 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Berlin , MARYLAND
Posts: 134
Its not froze up is it?
__________________
SALTY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 04:07 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Salty...Its not froze up....

Dunn & F1100.....I'll check the sensor on the slider in the fridge....

Thanks for the help on this....!
__________________
200smk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 04:10 PM   #8
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by SALTY View Post
Its not froze up is it?
Never heard of a refrigerator freezing up, but we live and learn. What goes wrong to cause it freeze up?
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 04:11 PM   #9
Site Team
 
Terier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9,616
I have to ask - Any chance that the door isn't shut completely?

There's been a few times my door looked closed but wasn't. It wasn't noticeable until pushing on the handle to check. Important clue was that some items on the door side were semi thrawed while the other side were frozen.
__________________
Great choice for "Living within my means" and camping for one...

2011 Salem Cruise Lite 20RBXL & 2011 Toyota Tundra Dbl Cab
Camping History: 45 Trips / 133 Nights / 3736 Miles
FRF Social Group: Campers of the West
Terier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 04:14 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
The door is closed until it clicks for sure......I cannot verify if the seals are fully sealed at that time.....will double check that too.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
200smk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.