Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-08-2016, 07:01 AM   #1

IRV Radios and Installation

Just a little tid-bit on the IRV33 media system that is standard in most Roo's and Shamrocks as well as the installation. Although I still stand by my initial statement at this point that these are one step above junk, I did find something that may interest others with a 23ss or similar Forest river rig. I replaced my IRV33 system today with an IRV34 i received under warranty, looks and installs exactly the same as the 33 and has the same features. I installed the new system and it seemed to work, sounded just as bad as the old system when it worked but it did actually work. I started playing with the settings and noticed nothing was playing on the right channel on any zone. All the colors matched from the harness and the speaker wire so Initially I thought another bad radio. But then I noticed the LH zone1 should have been connected to the white lead off the harness and there was nothing attached to it. Long and short is I had to cut all the speaker wires and even though the colors no longer matched speaker wire color to harness wire color I hooked it up according to the diagram. Honestly this thing came to life. Sounds like a completely different system. My point is if your system is fair at best don't do like I did and see the wire colors match and think its ok. Check your system settings and actually check both channels left and right are working. I cant imagine mine would be any different than others since these rigs are assembly line products. I should have known because I only have 4 speakers, 2 inside and 2 out but had 3 zones? now there is nothing on zone 3 but I have actual stereo inside and out. And another side note, I have heard a lot of people complain because the inside speakers were so much louder then the outside when switching zones. This also corrected that is